Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there... hope i do not sound useless as i am new to all off this.. But i have just brought myself a 6 foot by 4 foot piece of mdf and am now just about to do my first layout, only have a little room hence the size of what i have purchased. What i am wondering is what is the best way to lay the track. I have a track mat layout that i recieved with my train set (only a small set but i am getting there lol). Do i just lay it straight onto the mat itself or can you purchase something to lay the track on ontop of the mat? Sorry if i sound thick but i am just trying to learn and build up as i go along.

·
DT
4,794 Posts
Hi Michael, welcome to the forum.

As you have some set track, why don't you lay and oval - play with it a bit. Add a siding and see how it goes. Add to it in stages.

If you wan to use your mat, lay it on the mat. Don't nail it or glue it down yet. See how it works out with your locos.

I say this as you will get a feel for track laying by doing this. You will also quickly change your mind and ideas as you progress.

·
Registered
531 Posts
Welcome Michael. Questions always seem to be welcome on this forum.
I generally agree with doug but if you want to stop things sliding around you could insert a few track pins (available from your local model shop from Peco etc or even by post). You will probably need to use a fine drill into the MDF and push the pins using pliers rather than a hammer. Once you are happy you can move onto cork underlay or whatever you like the look of. Try visiting a local model railway exhibition (lists in Model railway magazines) to get some ideas of what you prefer. Even consider joining a local model railway club - new members are usually welcomed with open arms whatever their skill levels. Good luck - it 's a great hobby!

·
Registered
115 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Michael.