Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I've searched these words on the forum and read many articles, to which many people have said 'i insulated my loft' but I have not found any topics that say how. Is it as easy as buying lagging and fitting to the roof panels and then boarding ?? do you still need lagging in the floor if this is the case ?? or can you re-use it in the roof recesses ??
Are there new materials out there now to use to lag, I remember reading somewhere that there was and it was only 1/3rd of the thickness but gave the same protection.

Any advice gratefully received.

Dave.

·
Registered
108 Posts
I'm not an expert, but recently converted my own loft for railway use. I think you will find that you still need to have the loft floor insulated otherwise there will be a lot of heat loss from your house because the air space in the loft needs to be ventilated so there will always be a draught.

I used thick fibre insulation rolls, then put 1.5in battens across the loft floor's cross members to create a level surface over pipes and electrical wiring. Then I screwed loft-board panels that interlock (available in packs from B&Q), remembering to mark on them where pipes and junction boxes were located in case you need to access them later (it's a good idea to trim the lip off boards that might need to be lifted later).

You can staple heat reflective roof lining to the inside of the roof lats, or some people use thin insulation and then put hardboard over the top to hold in place.

The loft does get hot in the summer, so I am looking at getting one or two Velux windows fitted, and it is very cold in winter, so I now have a couple of low wattage radiators that are fitted with thermostats. Heat range is the biggest problem with using the loft and can affect rail joints, especially between adjoining baseboards. You need to do whatever you can to minimise the extremes.

Hope this helps!