Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks

This could prove to be quite an emotive topic, it may be difficult for you experts to totally subjective. What i'm after is some advice on which DCC system i should choose, I've done a fair bit of research but i'm still a little confused. Bearing in mind that i'm as interested (if not more so) in the technology side of running a model railway as i am any other part of the hobby i have defined my requirements as follows.

My layout will be fairly small and home based so i will only need to run 3 or 4 trains at any one time. However, I'm Fully committed to DCC and want to explore it's full potential that will include, sound, lighting for trains and layout, manual and fully automatic computer control including routes and even things like DCC controlled elecromagnetic based couplings. I'm sure you get the idea.

I'm Sure you will all apreciate that i'm just starting out down this road and i think this initial decision is going to be very important. I Think i have narrowed down my decision between two systems that appear to support my aspirations. They are the Lenz set 100 and the digitrax super chief, at the moment i'm pushed toward the Lenz simply becuase it appears to have a superior warranty and is a little cheaper.

Any advice and guidance you guys could give me would be much appreciated, also i'm out in the sticks in suffolk so if you guys know any like minded people out this way i'd very much like to meet them.

Kind Regards

Mark

·
DT
4,794 Posts
Lenz and Digitrax are two different systems with different communications architectures. So once you have one system, you are tied into the technology when you are looking to add other modules from other manufacturers.