Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi from Melbourne.

Newbie here is setting up a layout in the Antique and I would appreciate your comments! I have a couple of the Bachmann La Fayettes (Yes I know they are HO, and american, but since they will be in rural england I posted here. I am of the belief that Norris engines from Philadelphia were used on the Birmingham and Gloucester Railway because of the Licker Incline). I am taking inspiration from a Phaidon book "Early Railway Prints". It would appear that the railway sleepers were "buried" so at the risk of causing a commotion
, would I attempt such a feat on my re-creation.

Looking forward to your musings!

Cheers Bluey

·
In depth idiot
7,678 Posts
If you really want to go 'dawn of railways' then true scale is a near necessity. If you standardise on HO use P87, for 4mm/ft use P4. (The latter will be easier as UK wheel forms like split spoke and curly spoke are or have been available.) The reason for this is that many early vehicles have the wheels either outside frames and fully visible or between frames, and the vehicles are so small as to make accomodating over width tyres and under width gauge very difficult.

·
Registered
2,202 Posts
ballast was laid over the sleeper tops for many decades after the early railways started.......one reason was to make it safer for horses, regularly used for shunting.

Also, consider ''baulk road'' trackage, whereby the rails [not true vignoles section, though] were laid on longitudinal baulks of timber, spaced at intervals with cross pieces......the classic example of this trackage being used by IK Brunel on his broad gauge great Western Railway.