Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,201 Posts
Hi All,

I am new to dcc though have fitted several decoders ...... but the thought of farish's 04 being fitted defeated me so off it went to a reputable fitter i recieved it back yesterday and it runs silently and silk smooth, in my delight at recieving it back it was only later setting the address for it i noticed when forward is selected it goes in reverse and vica versa.

The decoder is a CTE DCX74z (9x7x2,6mm) and my control is a gaugemaster prodigy, i have looked at the instruction sheet for the decoder and have tried to set CV 29 to no avail, is CV 29 used for setting its direction ?

Can i change the direction of the motor with the decoder as i dont fancy the prospect of swapping the motors wires over especially if they have been cut to fit inside this little shunter.

Many thanks

upnick.

·
Registered
257 Posts
QUOTE (upnick @ 4 Jun 2008, 18:40) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi All,

I am new to dcc though have fitted several decoders ...... but the thought of farish's 04 being fitted defeated me so off it went to a reputable fitter i recieved it back yesterday and it runs silently and silk smooth, in my delight at recieving it back it was only later setting the address for it i noticed when forward is selected it goes in reverse and vica versa.

The decoder is a CTE DCX74z (9x7x2,6mm) and my control is a gaugemaster prodigy, i have looked at the instruction sheet for the decoder and have tried to set CV 29 to no avail, is CV 29 used for setting its direction ?

Can i change the direction of the motor with the decoder as i dont fancy the prospect of swapping the motors wires over especially if they have been cut to fit inside this little shunter.

Many thanks

upnick.

If you can read the value of CV29 with the Prodigy, then reprogram CV29 by adding one to whatever the current value is. This will reverse the direction of travel.

Regards

John R
Bromsgrove Models

·
Registered
208 Posts