Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All
I've got the oportunity to buy a new Roco Maltimaus for around $150NZ (£55 ish..) is that a good deal ?
Whats the usual going price of a stand alone unit ?, the one I'm looking at has been split from a starter set.

Cheers
PaulM
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,342 Posts
Hi Paul
If that is for the complete system (including power supply and booster)
That is a good price
They generally sell for around Au$200 on feebay Australia
I have 2 sets myself ,having originally used the LokMAUS II I find it is very easy to use
the only limitation is not being able to read Back CV's so you must document any changes you make to your loco's

Hope this helps
regards Zmil
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
As Zmil says it's a good price.

We usually sell them split from starter sets at around £75/80.

If you are modelling euopean they represent extremly good value for money. The handset is easy to use one handed & has alpha numeric display that is also backlit. About the only drawback is that it cannot read CV's, unless you change the amplifier. It's all made by Lenz anyway.

Go for it !
 

·
Chief mouser
Joined
·
11,775 Posts
I can only agree with the comments above - it's a good price and the unit is easy to use (must be - even I can use one!)

Regards
 

·
is asleep
Joined
·
758 Posts
QUOTE (nzpaul @ 11 Aug 2008, 04:05) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I've got the oportunity to buy a new Roco Maltimaus for around $150NZ (£55 ish..) is that a good deal ?
Whats the usual going price of a stand alone unit ?, the one I'm looking at has been split from a starter set.
Hello PaulM, you didn't snap it up immediately?!

It is definitely worth it, an excellent controller in every respect I have found. The single drawback is not being able to read CVs back but then I set up my locomotives when I program them for the first time with all the parameters tweaked so I don't need to go back and adjust them. However it's very easy to put them all in an excel spreadsheet if you like or use a computer program via a Sprog is another way. There are probably black boxes you can buy that will do it too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
76 Posts
Curses, I have deliberated too long and got beaten to it


I wanted to get a cheap "second" controller to use on a portable layout to run 3 or 4 trains, it would have fit the bill well I think. It's simplicity wouldn't have been an issue as I set up locos on my Elite so only need to drive trains ,but I wanted something a little more sophisticated than a EZ Command.
Never mind, I can still get a MRC Prodigy Express from the States for not much more.

Cheers
PaulM
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
QUOTE (zmil @ 12 Aug 2008, 19:01) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Paul
Its a shame you missed out , as the MultiMAUS is Xpressnet based like your Elite so you could have used them together
with many possibilities for control and programing
Do you have your Elite hooked up to Computer via the USB ?
Regards Zmil

Not yet, only when I've run an upgrade, I'm sticking with V1.2 at the moment since it has NMRA conformance.
I'd like to do some more with it when the speech recognition thing gets developed further into a jo blogs useable programme ( was discussed on this forum a few month ago) . I can see much fun & hilarity being derived from "talking" to my train set (layout... you'll have to excuse me, I use the terms Train set & toy trains on purpose..keeps the seriousness at bay) especially when friends come around to have a go. In the meantime I've got quite used to driving the Elite as a stand alone device and Ive not really seen the need to plug it in as I'm quite happy programing & tuning decoders the long way. I have used "train &co" or something like that on a friends system with six active throttles at a go but I wasn't overly impressed. I'm looking foreward to the Access One wireless handheld due out later this year, I think that should provide some novelty play value for a while.

Cheers
PaulM
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
QUOTE (zmil @ 12 Aug 2008, 23:38) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Paul

I already talk to the trains
,

Yeah, I think most of us suffer from that particular affliction from time to time, Uually followed by a fair amount of digital shunting to clear up the mess... even those without a dcc system.


Cheers
PaulM
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top