Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 410 Posts

·
Why is'nt it easy !!
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
I like many decided one day that I was finally going to build that layout I had been telling my son I was going to build for many years.... we did have a very small "Train Set" on a board at the last house we lived in but space was very tight so the layout was quite small. We moved house 10 years ago and as this house had a double garage 18ft x 18ft we always intended to build something in there so 8 years later we FINALLY decided it was time to crack on but buy this time the garage had become a storage unit rather than a garage ..... like so many others
so we cleared a space in the centre of the garage...



A few months passed and a bit more clearing out and and some white paint on the walls we ended up with this...



A 16ft x 8ft layout based on one of the layouts in an old Hornby track plans book now while this was a fine layout the issue for me was having to crawl under the board to get to the centre of the layout ( I have pins in my spine and sometimes this is not always easy to do
) but as time passed I also cleared out more and more of the " you never know when you might need that pile of C**P " and this then started me thing that I should make the most of the garage space I have and create a section that allows me to walk into the layout rather than crawl under it.... so this takes me to the end of my base board journey as I have now finally built the correct base board for me and this is around the outer edge of the garage wall and its 18ft x 17ft x 3ft











I have also made this higher than the old layout as this makes it much easer to work on... now I know there are some out there that will say 3ft deep is to deep for the base board but the track will not be 3 feet away from the edge this is 3ft deep to allow me to develop scenery on the wall edge of the layout and will be built up first... well that's the plan in my head anyway


Now for control...

I have been using the Bachmann Dynamis Pro system with 5 receivers for almost 2 years and I find this to be more than adequate for my needs I have mounted it on the ceiling of the garage in a star configuration and this works really well this puts me at around 5 feet away from a receiver at any one time.

I have been using the Bachmann Dynamis Pro system with 5 receivers for almost 2 years and I find this to be more than adequate for my needs I have mounted it on the ceiling of the garage in a star configuration and this works really well this puts me at around 5/6 feet away from a receiver at any one time and I have been using this system being much further away from the base unit/receivers this without any issues.



This all gives me 4 areas now to work on and to date these will be a TMD area 10ft x 3 ft a Station area 12ft x 3ft a container yard 9ft x 3ft and a forth area 8ft x 3ft that I'm not quite sure what to do with yet....

Sorry for the long post but its been a while the links below are the link to my first layout and a link to my test track.

http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...p;hl=anthony566

http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...p;hl=anthony566
 

·
Why is'nt it easy !!
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Thanks guys ....

DT ... What can I say ..... I do have track down on the TMD section and photo's will follow as soon as my Cobalts arrive as I have decided to go with DCC Concepts DCC point motors for all my points
 

·
Why is'nt it easy !!
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
who me ??? never
 

·
Why is'nt it easy !!
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
How time fly's ......

Sorry for the lack of updates but I have been working on my layout as and when work stops interfering with it ...

I have almost completed laying the track in the Container yard and have started on the raised area at the back and right hand corner of this section.

I have fixed backboards to the wall in this area ready to take the back scene and yesterday completed installing a lift up section to complete the base board so now there is nothing but time stopping me completing complete lines round the layout.

Also today I received my first batch of DCC Concepts Digital Cobalt point motors and switches as I will be setting these up to be able to be controlled via DCC command and by push switches ...... Well that's the plan anyway


I know photo's are a must so I will take some and upload them over the weekend.
 

·
Why is'nt it easy !!
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
For this final version of my layout I decided to use DCC Concept digital point motors ( other motors are available ) my reason for doing this was based on a few things
1, all in one dcc decoder and motor
2, setup of the travel is very easy
3, I can control these point motors via DCC and push switches via a local control panel

I have NEVER used motors on points before so this is really my first ever attempt at doing this and there was an air of doubt that I could get these set in the right place etc etc.

I created a small test bench to first work out how to set these up and installing and getting one working took 10 minutes ( I was surprised at this ) This was made from 2 6" bits of 3"by 2" as legs and a 12" length of mdf with 2 points on it.

The first thing I worked out is the reason you can buy adhesive pads for these motors as this allows you to hang the motor in the correct place and have both hands free so I used double sided sticky tape to do this as this left me with 2 free hands to screw the point motor in place this will be needed when working under my base board.

Putting the point motor in place is the hardest thing you will do when installing these DCC Concepts point motors as everything else from this point forward is ssssoooooo easy I kept thinking there must be more to it than this as once you connect a red and black wire from your DCC bus and moved the white switch to the setup position then assign an address via your DCC control system ( I used a Dynamis Pro ) put the white switch back to the running position that's it your good to go.

So as a first time DCC Concepts customer well done DCC Concepts.... Only 52 point motors to go
 

·
Why is'nt it easy !!
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Hi dt
... I have some photo's to load ill get them up ASAP
I have completed all the track in the container yard and have put a local engine Depot for the container yard loco's.

I have also started to lay the main lines through the TMD area and across the very odd shaped lift up section ... This has tested my track laying skills to the point where I now know I don't have any lol but hay ho that's half the fun.

I'm useing a Hornby Pendelino to test my track as this is the longest loco/carriage I have and this is also the most temperamental item of running stock I have so I'm going with that as my test plan as if this works everything else will


Tested all my cobalts on my test bed and all work just fine with there default ID
I have another 12 comming from your supplier so they should be here next week I think.

Sorry for the lack of photos.
 

·
Why is'nt it easy !!
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
ok now for some photos...

I decided to go with a lift up section but its quite an odd shap so that had me scratching my head for a while but I got there in the end....

in place...



up right... i still need to create a rest for the wall to hold it in place when in this position.

 

·
Why is'nt it easy !!
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #21 ·
A few more images :-

I have started to fix the back boards to the wall so I can add the back scene over the next few weeks the blocks are the supports for the raised road section that will lead the the raised road container yard in the far corner.



I picked up this twin tunnel enterance at the rail show a few weeks back



This is the engine shed that will feed the container yard the line that runs past the 2 shed lines is part of the shunting line that feeds the 2 holding lines that run close to the 3 container loading & unloading lines



Main lines and shunting line off to the right the line on the left is the access line for the oil depot that will be on the section behind this photo.



View from the container yard across the lift up section sweeping left onto the section the will contain the oil depot and then lead onto the station section



Bachmann Porta cabins these will turn into part of the container yard site office developement.



so still a very very long way to go, I have also started to lay the main lines on the TMD section but its not complete yet.
 

·
Why is'nt it easy !!
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Thanks dt,Ray for the comments
.... I have NO idea what "jock" means .... Is this another one of those North - South devide things
 

·
Why is'nt it easy !!
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #29 ·
QUOTE (Steve Drew @ 5 Sep 2012, 17:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Thanks for the comments. You've all been very helpful


QUOTE (Rhiwderin_Ray @ 5 Sep 2012, 21:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I think it means "careful" as in careful with money!

Are you saying I'm tight dt ......
 

·
Why is&#39;nt it easy &#33;&#33;
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #33 ·
QUOTE (JimmyH @ 6 Sep 2012, 06:15) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>good work!

I see you're still using the tracklay system. is that all recycled from a previous layout?


Hi Jimmy, yes im re-useing almost all of my track with the TrackLay on it although I do need more as the layout is now alkmost twice the size....
 

·
Why is&#39;nt it easy &#33;&#33;
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #34 ·
QUOTE (David Todd @ 6 Sep 2012, 06:25) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Yep, he has to "back-pedal" to brake the locos'................

In fact A, has been back pedalling for a few months now, ..............


Its forwards only now dt
well with a bit of backwards now and again ....
 

·
Why is&#39;nt it easy &#33;&#33;
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #35 ·
QUOTE (David Todd @ 6 Sep 2012, 05:27) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Moorings..............


By counting out the grains,per sq.inch,you could weel fall into this, category.

Weel done Ray,
But,very PC.

A........The twin tunnel entrance,I also bought,unpainted @ Chatham Show,I was told it was a one off unique,never to be found elsewhere......


Oh dt .... they really did see you comming ....
 

·
Why is&#39;nt it easy &#33;&#33;
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #36 ·
QUOTE (ste @ 5 Sep 2012, 20:51) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>This is looking really good. I really like that twin tunnel entrance, what make is it if you don't mind me asking?

Hi Ste, the tunnel is from Skytrex - www.skytrexmodelrailways.com they come painted or unpainted.
 

·
Why is&#39;nt it easy &#33;&#33;
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #38 ·
Hi Chris, I think its safe to say the current setup on the lift up section is Version 1
I would like the track to be closer and I think the only reason its not is because of what I used to cut it with so I may replace it with closer sections of track but im going to see how running locos goes but thats for the feedback as it always helps to have other peoples eyes on whay you do so keep em comming.
 

·
Why is&#39;nt it easy &#33;&#33;
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Well I have got to share my latest addition to my layout with you and also a few photo's for dt ....

First my new Dapol MRA Wagons





Dapol should be very very happy with these wagons as the detail is amazing IMO....

Now this is for you dt.....

DCC Buffer Stop lights, they just clip into the track and on a DCC layout both LED's are lit all the time power is on.









let me know if you need anything else dt.... apart from buying you some and sending them to you ofcourse
 

·
Why is&#39;nt it easy &#33;&#33;
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #42 ·
QUOTE (Big Dave @ 6 Sep 2012, 18:29) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I have not seen them before please tell more, were from how much. get back in line dt


I second that Big Dave..... MRA's are from Rails @ £104 each set and I got 2
 

·
Why is&#39;nt it easy &#33;&#33;
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
QUOTE (Big Dave @ 6 Sep 2012, 21:07) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>How many do you get in a set


Hi Dave, you get 5 MRA Wagons in a set the photo only has one set in it the other set is still in its box
 

·
Why is&#39;nt it easy &#33;&#33;
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #49 ·
I started to conect droppers to my DCC bus tonight so I could start to test the container yard section but I only managed to get 12 droppers done and my iron packed in


it was enough to test with though so here it is the first loco to be powered up on the new layout......



and a shot of my Bachmann double portacabin this will be the rail loading area site office.



im going to convert the RNLI range rover to a customes car or port police not sure yet.
 

·
Why is&#39;nt it easy &#33;&#33;
Joined
·
2,155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #51 ·
QUOTE (David Todd @ 7 Sep 2012, 07:05) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Disappointed from Dover............
...Hmm, can't find the F, button to release the brakes, eh,

I'll have a go at a NAFFER video later tonight and we will see if the F key works
 
1 - 20 of 410 Posts
Top