Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm a newbie and have inherited a load of track etc. I only have room for an 8x4 board slotted into an aclove in the bedroom. I also have a double and single level crossing and a girder bridge which I'd like incorporated. I looked through hornby plans 2-11 with little appeal and eleven spent more pages promoting dcc than a good plan selection unless you had loads of space, not impressed ith hvr2 put in track plan from book wouldn't work. All my gear is hornby looking to operate passenger and freight and use dcc. Any suggestions would be a great help.

·
Premium Member
2,837 Posts
Hello. Good luck with the project.

My main suggestion is not to have a single 8 by 4 ft board for a number of reasons. Firstly, reaching the far side to deal with a derailment (and there will be some!) won't be at all easy.

A more important reason is to do with realism. I would cut a section out of the middle about 4ft by 18 in minimum and possible 2 ft. This will give you an operating area in which to sit or stand. If you set the board fairly high so that you can easily duck under then you won't need a removable part to get in.

When you are inside trains go round behind you and this appears far more realistic than circling in front of you. Also, viewed from the inside it means that coaches and wagons appear closer together on curves. Viewed from the outside the gaps that they make going round small radius curves looks far worse.

If you can make the ends of your operating space curved it will look better and feel better to lean on. It also means you can make it a little longer without losing track space.

The other thing that I would suggest is not to cram in as much track as the space will hold. Leave some room for scenery and things on the other side of the railway fence.

Once again, hope it goes all right. Robert.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·