Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
675 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

Just got a good deal on a DCC Ready Hornby Stanier 2-6-4 tank. Company unable to locate that model so sent me a DCC Fitted model instead for the same price - an even better deal. I was planning to start DCC sometime soon but this has forced my hand a little. Basically, are DCC-fitted locos (Hornby or Bachmann) a good thing to go for? I've seen a lot of debate on MRF about Hornby decoders, and the preference for Lenz. I've had a rummage through DCC FAQs and DCC Installation, so realise it's a massive topic.

On a side issue, it's great that the development of LMS 2-6-4 tanks to BR Standard can be seen in available models - from Fowler & Stanier (both Hornby) to Fairburn and BR Standard (both Bachmann).

mal
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
A couple of years ago, Lenz was a good standard. It seems as though that they are not putting much effort into the development of their products and they are being overtaken by cheaper and more feature-rich products.

Recently, I have having good results with the Bachmann decoders which are made by ESU and have great running characteristics and are inexpensive at less than £10 a decoder.

There are other brands too that offer good value for money so shop around and ask lots of questions on forums like this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
208 Posts
I find that TCS decoders are good value for money, I get mine from digitrains, digby, lincolnshire. Have not yet tried the bachmann ones as I run O gauge and think they may not take the current from my locos.

regards

mike g
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 14 Sep 2008, 12:49) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Recently, I have having good results with the Bachmann decoders which are made by ESU and have great running characteristics and are inexpensive at less than £10 a decoder.
I can endorse this - recently, due to the problems we experienced with Lenz supplies we have been fitting "Bachsu" decoders with excellent results.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
When Hornby supply "Fitted" locomotives, are the decoders connected via standard sockets to allow easy replacement later or are they hard wired / custom connect jobs?

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
144 Posts
QUOTE (dwb @ 15 Sep 2008, 18:12) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>When Hornby supply "Fitted" locomotives, are the decoders connected via standard sockets to allow easy replacement later or are they hard wired / custom connect jobs?

David
Hi
All the Hornby DCC fitted locos I have dealings with have used a special four pin plug / socket which is non standard!!!! i.e no 8 pin NMRA plug/socket fitted. Though the decoder seems to be their standard offering.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
QUOTE All the Hornby DCC fitted locos I have dealings with have used a special four pin plug / socket which is non standard

In that case any mail order company who sends me a "Fitted" instead of a "Ready" will get it straight back. There are reasons why I choose to buy "Ready" locos:

1) I like to take advantage of "higher" end features such as ABC braking and RailCOM
2) I like to be able to add sound decoders easily

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
144 Posts
QUOTE (dwb @ 15 Sep 2008, 17:43) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>In that case any mail order company who sends me a "Fitted" instead of a "Ready" will get it straight back. There are reasons why I choose to buy "Ready" locos:

1) I like to take advantage of "higher" end features such as ABC braking and RailCOM
2) I like to be able to add sound decoders easily

David
Hi
In this case then DCC ready would be the ideal option.

Otherwise you'll be discarding the 'basic' decoder which you have paid extra for in the DCC fitted loco!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
QUOTE (Flashbang @ 15 Sep 2008, 18:21) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi
All the Hornby DCC fitted locos I have dealings with have used a special four pin plug / socket which is non standard!!!! i.e no 8 pin NMRA plug/socket fitted. Though the decoder seems to be their standard offering.
That is because you have only "had dealings with" 'Train Set' Locomotives. The other Hornby Locos, whether 'DCC Ready' or 'DCC' have the standard NMRA socket
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
QUOTE (dwb @ 15 Sep 2008, 18:43) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>In that case any mail order company who sends me a "Fitted" instead of a "Ready" will get it straight back. There are reasons why I choose to buy "Ready" locos:

1) I like to take advantage of "higher" end features such as ABC braking and RailCOM
2) I like to be able to add sound decoders easily

David

When you buy DCC fitted locos ask if if it is a hardwired installation or plug in as i purchased a class 66 and was charged more than a hardwired installation fee for the seller to remove the body and fit a 6 pin decoder in minutes
something you can do yourself very easily the hardest part removing the body.

Apart from any repercussions i would name the seller needless to say i would never reccomend /use them again, and would add they are nothing to do with the forum here.

The lesson a quick mail can save you in the long run, especially if like me you didnt know much about DCC at the time.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top