Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all,
I am quite new to model railways, i've spent quite a few years as a 1:76 scale military modeller using railway related items in my dioramas, I think my dioramas have been getting bigger whilst the military content smaller.
I have just bought my first 00 gauge loco, some track and a controller from my local model shop, now i need to convince my wife that the spare room needs to be a working diorama.
David

·
Administrator
9,845 Posts
Welcome to the Forum!

QUOTE now i need to convince my wife that the spare room needs to be a working diorama.

Try "Salami" tactics. You start with something quite small - say 6ft by 2ft - get it quite presentable looking and "cute", then during a demonstration say "It's nice but with an extra couple of feet in that dead corner, it could be so much better" and with a bit of luck that will get another "slice" of space. Repeat until the whole room is occupied.

My modelling advice is more reliable

Enjoy

David

·
Chief mouser
11,775 Posts
Hi David and welcome to MRF.

I think David has got the right idea with the expansion theory.

Mind you this is fast becoming a David thread.

From another one

Regards

·
No Longer Active.
13,319 Posts
Hi David,

I have the opposite problem with the ladies trying to encroach with the keep fit stuff, still, I'm lucky, I have an office & decent sized workshop to myself.

·
Chief mouser
11,775 Posts
Apart from the Daz mountain......

Regards

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi Everybody

I am a "newbie" in the real sense having never had a model train when I was a youngster.

However having received a Hornby Flying Scotsman train set for my Christmas (I have had more than 60 Christmases!) my interest has been well and truly stimulated and I am about to start building a layout.

Only question at this point is "what is considered to be the best 1:76 diecast range of models for a 50's and 60's layout?

Cheers,