Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

Im a newbie to model railways and want some advice,

I dont have a lot of space and my budget is very low.
I have wanted to get in to this for a long time and now that im married and finally got our own place i have the opertunity to do this.

Please can you offer any advice on where to get cheap materialls and rolling stock etc from as my budget is very small as this has to be a low priority compared to everything else, but hey i want to get it started.

Many thanks in advanced

·
Registered
521 Posts
My best advice is to visit your local newsagents, buy one or two different model rail magazines and check out the advertisements - especially the small ads at the back. (Sneaky hint - have a good leaf through the magazines before buying!)

A couple of good magazines are a very worthwhile first investment, before laying out bigger money on hardware.

Also, use the internet and search facilities to locate online used equipment dealers.
Take a look at any and all dealers you find, because even those who don't look as though they deal in used equipment MIGHT, if you look deep enough and make enquiries of them to check.

·
Registered
267 Posts
I'm (still) planning a small layout (No bigger than about 6ft x 1ft) as a kind of small uni project.

The aim will be to at least run a Bachmann 66 with maximum really of 2 trucks. Some shunting is preferable as well.

The best way i'm finding in planning that 'ideal' (If such a thing exists?) layout is to use Hornby Virtual Railway 2 as it gives you an idea of the size and the kind ofd things you can run on it. Costs around £20, but is worth the investment if you are serious about doing a layout.

·
Registered
205 Posts
There's also some good free layout planning software about such as XtrackCad and Atlas in the US do one too, it can be downloaded from their sites.

·
Premium Member
2,650 Posts