Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
My first round of questions. As mentioned in my intro I'm only a beginner, so no really technical replies please.

For the baseboard I'm planning to use (9mm ?) ply. I'd always thought Sundeala was widely used, but many posts suggest not.

What's the best form of baseboard silencing? I've read some posts suggesting glueing the track rather than pinning it.

I'm considering a split level track. What would be a good gradient to use?

Is track interchangeable e.g Hornby and Peco, and which is best, or is it all down to personal choice?

The only specs I have at the moment are:
OO track. I've quite a bit of Hornby track which I can hopefully use.
DCC control - I was thinking of one of the Digitrax systems, but may now opt for NCE Powercab (thanks to zmil for the suggestion). Any comments/ recommendations on this welcome. The main feeling I've picked up is avoid Hornby.
The main track is likely to be about 6' x 8', although I may be able to stretch to 7' x 10'. The room is about 15' x 14' and I may be able to extend the track along the edge of the room. It's mainly used as a study, so it depends on how much space I can free up.
I've been using Hornby's HVR2 to create a few layouts. I don't know how this compares to other products.

·
DT
4,794 Posts
There are no fixed rules on baseboard construction. Use whatever you like and can get locally.

I've used plywood with cork in places, but cork doesn't insulate sound. If I had to do it over, I'd make up a baseboard frame and lay plywood roadbeds - not necessarily covering the whole of the frame wit big sheets of ply. Sure, if you have a station or yard, then a sheet is the best way of doing it.

For sound insulation, I've used cork and foam. Cork doesn't work that well. In one place where I have cork next to the foam, the difference is amazing where the train drives from the cork underlay to the foam underlay.