Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm a total newbie to the model train scene. I'm in Germany now and have been riding the ICE-3 trains a lot so I thought I'd take a model home with me. I'm in Cologne and found a store with the n-scale TRIX ICE-3 starter set and the PIKO ICE-3 analog starter set.

I can't open either box so I don't know what they're like inside. I found a youtube video of the PIKO set but I can't find any info on the n-scale TRIX set. Basically, I am wondering if the quality of the n-scale set is any good. The HO scale TRIX looks amazing but I'm not really willing to spend that much for what is essentially a souvenir.

Is the quality of the PIKO set pretty good? If it's pretty good, I might just get that as it is quite a bit bigger than the n scale. But if the detail in an Nscale model from TRIX is really good, I might settle for that as it is slightly cheaper for the set and it's small enough that I can display it on my model shelf when it's not on the track.

Thank you for your help,
tm

·
Registered
1,141 Posts
Hi,

I´d go with the HO scale Piko set, as it offers good value for money. Maybe you can even get a digital starter set; the digital remote control is made by Uhlenbrock iirc.

Downside is that you´d have to buy two identical supplementary coaches to get a complete set (if that is what you wish), upside is that you can very easily (some paint and maybe new catenary pickups) enhance the ICE set to a top quality model. There have been several reports on how this is done on German forums (not sure if I´m supposed to post linls here), and in one of the MIBA Sezial magazines.

The Trix set is really only for kids. Due to the high flanges, the cutouts for the bogies to turn are way!!! too large. Fitting interior lighting is a problem. Iirc, they don´t even have working headlights.