Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a few months of "nothing to do" time until my resturant re-opens and I enjoy starting new projects. Im having a go at fabricating a set of points from scratch, has anyone else made a set that worked?

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for that link,ive browsed through it and put it in my favourites box for further reference. I knew it would be a tricky task but I shall give it a go, im a time served engineer but cat d9s and 16g motor graders are somewhat different than this, ive made a basic start on it already.

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·

Thanks for the info gents but it seems a bit compicated for a moment so I've made a dummy set just for visual purposes. Making my own was an option after I saw the prices but as its only a little project at present it will have to wait but I will keep this info in my favourites for future reference, thanks again.

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
QUOTE (jimread @ 1 Feb 2009, 23:07) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Dear Frame69,

You would be very welcome to the drawing I made and I would make a close up pic of a point for you so that you could see how they are made.

Dear Rossi,

Shellac has the same effect as does PVA glue when laying ballast I changed my mind about my layout and am now making a 3 way point plus 1 LH and 1 RH to make a crosover between 3 tracks, I had to scrape up the track I'd previously stuck down and ballasted, it was tough :)

Jim
Thanks Jim and yes I would be very gratefull for this drawing as the points would be much better if they worked

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
QUOTE (alastairq @ 1 Feb 2009, 23:28) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>frame69...is that O gauge trackage, really peco streamline OO flextrack, cut in half and glued down further apart?

the weeds down the middle look suspicious.