Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. I just started building a OO gauge shunting layout. I have two locos and four wagons. The newest wagon, from Bachmann, has the NEM couplers. My problem is the hooks are closer to the bar than the others, including a new Hornby loco fitted with NEMs. The Bachmann wagon is a pain in the butt when trying to manually uncouple by lifting the hooks. Question: can I get Hornby replacements and if so, which ones?
Thanks.

·
In depth idiot
7,677 Posts
Before spending any money, you might want first want to consider the Kadee coupler. Comes designed for magnetic uncoupling, can also be manually uncoupled with a slightly modified wooden skewer or similar, inserted vertically from above, which is a damn sight easier than lifting tension lock hooks. Kadee #18 and #19 are typically what's required on NEM coupler pocket equipped OO models.

If you want to stay with miniature tension locks barter is possible. I have redundant Hornby, because I have standardised on the Bachmann pattern for my freight stock. (For greatest operational reliability a single maker's type is best, doesn't matter which one, and I have vastly more Bachmann stock than Hornby.)

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. I'm an 81-year old geezer from the States, so I'm familiar with Kadees and use them on my Z scale trains. I was attracted to the OO gauge because it's a nice size and the 4-wheel wagons make for a compact shunting layout. Mine is planned for a 12x36 inch shelf I bought at the lumber yard. I have three sections of Peco flex and expect delivery today of a pair of Hornby points. I'm about to order two more.