Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone.
Can anyone point me in the direction of a OO gauge over track signal cabin. I don't think there are any ready made models of this type available. Perhaps someone knows of a OO gauge kit or plans of how to construct one. Any help would be gratefully received.
Many thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,202 Posts
I have a book by Peter Tatlow [Highland Miscellany], which includes a photo of an interesting signal box...that at Keith, where the Highland Rly met the GNSR.....it is located next to the goods shed...but to allow the signalman a better view, the cabin is placed quite high up, straddling the siding into the goods shed....

I have the capability to scan the picture.......but I don't think I'm allowed to post it on here for copywrite reasons.....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,058 Posts
The box in the link is on the Tyne Valley line between Newcastle and Carlisle. There's some others like it on the line too I think. I'll see if I can find some more info.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
QUOTE (alastairq @ 1 Sep 2008, 22:28) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I have a book by Peter Tatlow [Highland Miscellany], which includes a photo of an interesting signal box...that at Keith, where the Highland Rly met the GNSR.....it is located next to the goods shed...but to allow the signalman a better view, the cabin is placed quite high up, straddling the siding into the goods shed....

I have the capability to scan the picture.......but I don't think I'm allowed to post it on here for copywrite reasons.....

You might be able to scan it and send it to me by e mail if I send you my e mail address in a pm.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
QUOTE (poliss @ 1 Sep 2008, 23:10) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>The box in the link is on the Tyne Valley line between Newcastle and Carlisle. There's some others like it on the line too I think. I'll see if I can find some more info.

Thanks Poliss. That would be great.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·

·
Chief mouser
Joined
·
11,775 Posts
Although not OO Faller do an over track signal cabin. Obviosly tis is European but I think it could easily be Anglicised.

Regards
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
One possibility is to buy some girders, either Evergreen (Evergreen international website)or Knightwing, build your own support structure from it and then plant the cabin part of your preferred signal box kit on top of it.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
QUOTE (dwb @ 2 Sep 2008, 18:41) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>One possibility is to buy some girders, either Evergreen (Evergreen international website)or Knightwing, build your own support structure from it and then plant the cabin part of your preferred signal box kit on top of it.

David

Hi David.
That is the way I was thinking. It would enable me to build the support structure to fit the space available. There are several signal box kits available which could be used on such a structure. I will take a look at the Evergreen site & see what is available.
Thanks for the link.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Tony,

This gives me an idea for my predicament of having three lines where i had planned a signal box, and it is a unique feature not often seen on a layout the pictures are great Poliss many thanks for the references.
Now where did i put the plastruct girders
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
Tony,

I've turned up this this webpage which gives a listing of what Knightwing produce. As far as I remember from previous searches, Knightwing don't have a website of their own but someone else hosts some pages on their behalf. Unfortunately without being able to see what's in those truss and girder packs it's hard to make a judgement on whether they would serve your purpose.

The Evergreen range is enormous and many UK model shops have a counter stand with a "selection" which may not be quite enough for what you want to do. It's possible that an architectural model supplies company would be a better bet, especially one that specialises in supplying the oil industry...

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
QUOTE (dwb @ 2 Sep 2008, 19:31) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Tony,

I've turned up this this webpage which gives a listing of what Knightwing produce. As far as I remember from previous searches, Knightwing don't have a website of their own but someone else hosts some pages on their behalf. Unfortunately without being able to see what's in those truss and girder packs it's hard to make a judgement on whether they would serve your purpose.

The Evergreen range is enormous and many UK model shops have a counter stand with a "selection" which may not be quite enough for what you want to do. It's possible that an architectural model supplies company would be a better bet, especially one that specialises in supplying the oil industry...

David

Hi David.
As you say, without being able to see whats in the Knightwing packets its impossible to know if they're any good or not. Where I live in South West Ireland I can't even buy anything. Everything I want I have to get from the UK or elsewhere.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
QUOTE (poliss @ 3 Sep 2008, 01:03) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>This page on Antics shows the contents of the Truss and Girder pack. http://www.railway-models.co.uk/1279_1_2156693.html

Thanks Poliss. The Knightwing girders are probably a bit light for an over track signal cabin but would be very useful in bridge work etc. Judging by the photos I have seen so far the girder work for the over track platforms seem to be pretty heavy gauge stuff. Some of the Evergreen stuff might be the way to go.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Tony,

Poliss mentioning Antics reminded me of plastruct section on their site also giving dimensions there the fineline is especially good to work with and gives a great profile.

http://www.expotools.co.uk/1308_1.html

I looked round a bit for a plan of as signal cabin nothing so far though, sorry if i find anything let you know.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
Here's a photo of an over line signal cabin at Clapham Junction - it's about half way down the page:- Link

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
QUOTE (upnick @ 3 Sep 2008, 20:41) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Tony,

Poliss mentioning Antics reminded me of plastruct section on their site also giving dimensions there the fineline is especially good to work with and gives a great profile.

http://www.expotools.co.uk/1308_1.html

I looked round a bit for a plan of as signal cabin nothing so far though, sorry if i find anything let you know.

Excellent link upnick.Many thanks. If I could find the dimentions for the steelwork support for the Signal cabin I would be flying.
 
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
Top