Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone.

I am building a layout at present using Peco code 100 with Electrofrog points. I need a few long crossings & was wondering if these are available in Electrofrog code 100 as well ?
There is Peco SLE 194 available but I am not sure if this is code 100 or code 75 ?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,305 Posts
Tony, Peco long crossing for Code 100 only in Insulfrog - Code 75 has both versions - you can join them with either the specific Peco joiners or fatten a metal code 100 fishplate half way - insert onto code 100 as normal & solder the 75 on the flat section.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
You are aware that electrofrog crossings need to have the power switched to prevent shorts? So that means you would be better to connect them to your existing code 100 using insulated fishplates. You will also need to pack the underside of the code 75 crossing (thickness 100 - 75) to make up for the lower rail height of the code 75. It should be easier than arranging a transition since the code 75 is just a brief interloper in your trackwork. The code 75 / 100 join on my layout is still a problem for longer locos as they come off the code 100 heights to the code 75.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
QUOTE (Sol @ 10 Aug 2008, 05:23) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Tony, Peco long crossing for Code 100 only in Insulfrog - Code 75 has both versions - you can join them with either the specific Peco joiners or fatten a metal code 100 fishplate half way - insert onto code 100 as normal & solder the 75 on the flat section.

Thanks Ron. I understand exactly what you mean.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
QUOTE (dwb @ 10 Aug 2008, 08:59) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>You are aware that electrofrog crossings need to have the power switched to prevent shorts? So that means you would be better to connect them to your existing code 100 using insulated fishplates. You will also need to pack the underside of the code 75 crossing (thickness 100 - 75) to make up for the lower rail height of the code 75. It should be easier than arranging a transition since the code 75 is just a brief interloper in your trackwork. The code 75 / 100 join on my layout is still a problem for longer locos as they come off the code 100 heights to the code 75.

David

Hi David.
I would be using them in double junction with electrofrog points. I control the frog polarity with a Seep point motor with the built in switch. I could probably use the point switch to change the polarity of the long crossing frog at the same time.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
QUOTE I could probably use the point switch to change the polarity of the long crossing frog at the same time.

I have a installed a scissors crossover using 4 points a short crossing, all electrofrog, and when I get round to wiring up the crossing Vees, that's how I intend to do it. I had a diagram once....

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
QUOTE (dwb @ 10 Aug 2008, 21:39) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I have a installed a scissors crossover using 4 points a short crossing, all electrofrog, and when I get round to wiring up the crossing Vees, that's how I intend to do it. I had a diagram once....

David

You are using code 75 I take it ?
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
QUOTE You are using code 75 I take it ?

Yes - well on one half of the layout. I changed when I realised you could only get electrofrog crossings in code 75.

The other difference is that the 3 way point in code 75 is asymmetric whereas the code 100 is symmetrical. The asymmetric requires two switches to supply the power to the right places. I've drawn a diagram for that one too....

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
QUOTE (dwb @ 11 Aug 2008, 18:03) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Yes - well on one half of the layout. I changed when I realised you could only get electrofrog crossings in code 75.

The other difference is that the 3 way point in code 75 is asymmetric whereas the code 100 is symmetrical. The asymmetric requires two switches to supply the power to the right places. I've drawn a diagram for that one too....

David

Hi David.
The reason I went for code 100 was because I wanted to keep some old stock that I had from long ago but since they mostly have plastic wheels which I plan to ban from my layout they will need to be re-whelled.So some code 75 may be making an appearence soon.Perhaps you might post a copy of your diagrams ?
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
QUOTE I wanted to keep some old stock that I had from long ago but since they mostly have plastic wheels which I plan to ban from my layout they will need to be re-whelled

I know what you mean. I still have some Triang / Hornby wagons from the original train set days and I don't want to part with them. Strangely they are not too much of a problem apart from a slight tendency to jump off going through point crossings now and again. The real "no no"s are Lima coaches from the late 70s and 80s which run along the sleepers and sound like it too. I am slowly building up a collection of Bachmann Mk1s as replacements.

I've managed to find the 3 way point wiring diagram and have uploaded it to my UK Modelling gallery. It is:


There is legend attached in the gallery view which you can get to via this link

<Edit> I found the crossing diagram as well and have uploaded it also


I find that drawing point sections in paint brush is a very good way to work out where the power goes. All you need to do is draw out the point sections, and then use the fill tool to change the colour. Provided you have drawn the sections correctly, you should not find the rails going the same colour. When drawing you just have to remember that pixels must touch along a side. Diagonals (pixels touching on a corner only) will not fill.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
QUOTE (dwb @ 11 Aug 2008, 18:46) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I know what you mean. I still have some Triang / Hornby wagons from the original train set days and I don't want to part with them. Strangely they are not too much of a problem apart from a slight tendency to jump off going through point crossings now and again. The real "no no"s are Lima coaches from the late 70s and 80s which run along the sleepers and sound like it too. I am slowly building up a collection of Bachmann Mk1s as replacements.

I've managed to find the 3 way point wiring diagram and have uploaded it to my UK Modelling gallery. It is:


There is legend attached in the gallery view which you can get to via this link

I find that drawing point sections in paint brush is a very good way to work out where the power goes. All you need to do is draw out the point sections, and then use the fill tool to change the colour. Provided you have drawn the sections correctly, you should not find the rails going the same colour. When drawing you just have to remember that pixels must touch along a side. Diagonals (pixels touching on a corner only) will not fill.

David

Thanks David.
If you find the diagram for the electrofrog crossing you migh let me have a copy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Sorry David.
Was too busy looking at the 3 way diagram I didnt see the crossing diagram.
Thanks Super.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
No wonder I didn't see it. It wasn't there lol.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
QUOTE Was too busy looking at the 3 way diagram I didnt see the crossing diagram.

If you look carefully, you will see an <Edit> marker which I typed in when I did the edit. You missed nothing, as your quote of the original post shows


My plan for the switches on the crossings is to use the switches from the points which feed the crossing - one for each vee.

I've not actually got round to that bit yet. The vee in a short crossing does not pose a problem for the long wheel base locomotives I have at present. If I ever convert an 0-6-0 to DCC, I might have to do something about it.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
"My plan for the switches on the crossings is to use the switches from the points which feed the crossing - one for each vee."

I was wondering about that. Your way is a neat way of doing it.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top