Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,I've searched the forum but not found anything on this subject. My pictures and videos are not as good as I'd like them to be,can anyone advise me on lighting ,what cameras are best etc... At the moment Im using a Samsung digimax s500 but my sony ericsson w890i mobile takes better pics than the camera,but still not good enough. Some of your pics on here are great so Im hoping mine can improve.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,578 Posts
Hi Andy
If you're using a digital camera thats got differant settings try experimenting. Ive found using a mini tripod and using the delayed shutter setting works in low light with out using the flash. Ive a samsung s830 compact and my wife has a canon digital slr that uses interchangable lenses. (Weve a wide angle which is grat for close ups and wide shots the standard 55mm lense, a telephoto which is great for distance weve also got a hood, and some filters but dont have any lamps) For the best results if you can take the model out side this really makes a differance, natural light and shadows add a real feeling of realism.
Regards
Steve
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Steve,poor light is a drawback with my layout and my "Dickensian"style allyway is barely wide enough to get my groceries down so no chance of getting outside. Tried all the settings on my camera but it just gets worse, think a new one should be the way!
A trip to the camera shop is needed . Cheers ,Frame
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
You want a nice camera with a nice macro and a good lens that lets in lots of light. After your camera, lighting is the next most important aspect of good photography.

For lights, try and find 'Daylight' bulbs. Grow lamps for indoor plant cultivation should work.

I take all my photos on a tripod, with the self timer so that I can get out of the way and not shake the camera - as most of the shots I take are a few seconds long in exposure time. This is also because I use Manual mode and have a high f-stop (about f22 or f27) to maximise the depth of field.

If you use tungsten or fluorescent lighting, you will need to correct the colour balances on the photo. I do this on virtually every shot as I have a mixture of both lighting types. A good photo editing software package is thus also required. If you don't have one, they I would recommend Google Picasa. It is an essential tool for managing large numbers of digital photos on your computer and it has some nifty photo editing tools built in too.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
If you are going to buy a new camera, I would lean towards buying one from one the traditional camera manufacturers such as Fuji, Canon etc. Most of the photos I have uploaded to the Forum are "as taken" by the camera apart from resizing them in Paint. For the photos taken in the attic (most of the model photos - such as these UK models), I use a OttLite "trueColor" task lamp to provide extra light. Most of the time I select the "Auto" programme, focus, decide whether I can hold the camera steady for the time and then click. When I need depth of field I will set Aperture priority and try to get the highest F number with a time I can manage without shaking. My camera handles the white balance for me, though the trueColor light probably makes the job easier. The camera is a Fuji S9500 which was quite high end when I got it, and has been superceded twice or three times since, but not always to better reviews.

David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thankyou gentlemen that was most informative,when the bank balance has come out of xmas shock I shall be seeking some new equipment, plus its my 40th birthday in march so presents should be large and expensive, (my girlfriend reads my posts
) I will retain this info for when Im ready to make a purchase,thanks again
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
QUOTE (wolverton bloomer @ 28 Jan 2009, 16:44) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Andy
If you're using a digital camera thats got differant settings try experimenting. Ive found using a mini tripod and using the delayed shutter setting works in low light with out using the flash. Ive a samsung s830 compact and my wife has a canon digital slr that uses interchangable lenses. (Weve a wide angle which is grat for close ups and wide shots the standard 55mm lense, a telephoto which is great for distance weve also got a hood, and some filters but dont have any lamps) For the best results if you can take the model out side this really makes a differance, natural light and shadows add a real feeling of realism.
Regards
Steve

Heres why I cant take it outside.
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
Now if I'd known you were a camera expert I would have got you to show me how to use my digicam properly last time I saw you !

BTW - any good with a camcorder ?
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Please keep images down to a reasonable size.

In the guidelines we ask for images around 700 pixels wide

http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=25

This is because not everyone has a large screen and broadband connection. We have to think of the majority.

If you use a photo manager like Picasa, you can export 700 pixel wide photos to Photobucket or whatever service you are using (perhaps even the free Google Web Albums). It will be faster and easier to manage on the forums.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
QUOTE (Brian Considine @ 2 Feb 2009, 19:25) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Now if I'd known you were a camera expert I would have got you to show me how to use my digicam properly last time I saw you !

BTW - any good with a camcorder ?
Hi Brian,was your last post in reference to me? If so how do you know me?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
QUOTE (Doug @ 2 Feb 2009, 20:24) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Please keep images down to a reasonable size.

In the guidelines we ask for images around 700 pixels wide

http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=25

This is because not everyone has a large screen and broadband connection. We have to think of the majority.

If you use a photo manager like Picasa, you can export 700 pixel wide photos to Photobucket or whatever service you are using (perhaps even the free Google Web Albums). It will be faster and easier to manage on the forums.
Sorry Doug I thought I got the hang of this,I'll look into it
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,578 Posts
QUOTE (Brian Considine @ 2 Feb 2009, 19:25) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Now if I'd known you were a camera expert I would have got you to show me how to use my digicam properly last time I saw you !

BTW - any good with a camcorder ?

Yes, Im ok with a camcorder too, Done some editing as well in me time, made a film about the RHDR but cant publish cos I nicked the soundtrack from various cds!
If it helps I can also put cine super 8 film and vhs on to dvd.
Steve
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,578 Posts
Frame69
"Heres why I cant take it outside"
Hmm, I see your problem!
Steve
PS I use adobe photoshop 5 for resizing images, open the photo you want to resize, Using the image drop down list click image size. type in 700 on the pixles box, make sure the constrain proportions box is ticked then hit enter. If you want to save the original at this size just ctrl s to save or use the file drop down box and use save as.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,845 Posts
I resize my photos using Paint. For my camera, 18% in each direction does the trick.

David
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,578 Posts
Hi Brian
Just replied to PM!
Steve
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top