Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,703 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
does anyone know what should be the minimum lenth (in 4mm scale) for a country station platform that is on a buisy branch line? I'm a 12 year old modeler hoping to start his first layout

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
Platform length will be dictated by train length.

If you only have small passenger trains, you might like to take the longest one's length add a coach or two to its length for possible future expansion and then you will have your ideal platform length.

In my terminus station my platform lengths vary from from about 1 meter long (one of them) to about 2.7 meters long (the other 2). Mind you my "busy" branch lines has freight trains of 3 meters in length which is a bit extreme really.

John

·
Registered
4,497 Posts
Welcome to the Forum.

Branch line passenger trains could be anything from 1 to 4 or more coaches long, depending on the number of passengers expected. Railway companies ran the smallest trains they could to keep costs to a minimum. So a branch line connecting two reasonable sized towns would carry more passengers than a branch that linked only small villages and would have longer trains.

For a model railway the limit is usually the space you have available for your layout. I think three or four coach trains are probably reasonably realistic without needing too much room.

Have fun!

Regards,
John Webb

PS As you've become a member, you don't need to use the Guest posting area; for questions about the real railways which you want to ask, there is a 'Prototype' section in the index you could use. It's worth looking at as you might pick up some ideas to help you design your layout. And in the Track, Layout and Scenery section a lot of people have asked about their layout design as well.

·
Chief mouser
11,775 Posts