Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was hoping someone can help me. Im a novice to the railway modelling world but looking extremely forward to my 1st project. Im currently in the process of designing my track, and let me tell you - HARD WORK!!!! (anyone with a track design for a 1.8m x 2.4m table layout??????)

Anyway, back to my query - How do I manage to install a point motor to a turnout when my track is sitting on a 2" woodlands scenic riser? Where is the best position to have the point motor placed? Do I need to cut out the foam riser and embed it on my table top or do I sit it next (level with the riser)?

Any suggestions to make this project achievable would be greatly appreciated!

Stets

·
No Longer Active.
13,319 Posts
Welcome to MRF.

If you are using a point such as Peco then use the surface mounded switch firmly & securely mounted on something like plasticard that also goes under & is fixed to the point itself. You would then have to disguise the motor, but it would be accessible.

Alternatively, you could cut away some of the riser & mount the motor on the bottom of the point, but this would give access problems at a later date if you had problems with it.

If you are using different points to Peco then please let us know.

Hope this helps.

·
Paul Hamilton aka "Lancashire Fusilier"
844 Posts
Stets,

This answers your question I trust. This is a photo from my previous layout where I mounted the motors using below baseboard mounts onto plywood and then cut out the foam to make a recess for the plywood to sit in then glued it all together.

This worked well in terms of strength etc. This is also the method advocated by Woodland Scenics in the manual and DVD.

Would I do it again?

No, I don't like the point motors and moved to Tortoise slow motion units however the same method could be used for those or the use of a remote mounting.