Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone had problems with point motors? Im using pl 10s with setrack points but they are not working, is 12volts not enough power? these points seem awfully stiff in comparison to my hornby points. Im also using a cdu.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,578 Posts
Ive heard of some having poblems with both peco and hornby point motors. But have also heard good things about tortoise.
Steve
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
Unfortunatly, Peco points are incredibly stiff & the overcentre spring far too stiff. The "engineering" is IMHO far too crude.

However, if you spend some time making sure everything is lined up correctly you should be able to get them working OK with the CDU - there is another current thread at the moment concerning point motors, which may help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
421 Posts
QUOTE (frame69 @ 3 Feb 2009, 18:39) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Has anyone had problems with point motors? Im using pl 10s with setrack points but they are not working, is 12volts not enough power? these points seem awfully stiff in comparison to my hornby points. Im also using a cdu.

Peco (and Hornby) state 16 volts for their point motors. 12 volts is a bit too low for reliable operation. Yes Peco points have a stronger spring than Hornby points, which i feel are sometimes too weak. As the moving point blades actually transfer the track power across the point the firm movement gives better more reliable contact. Peco PL-10 (and Hornby R8014) are basic simple solenoid motors and i have used them (and Seep) for more years than I care to count! While Tortoise are excellent they are very expensive by comparism. A CDU should only be needed if you are switching more than one point at the same time.

Regards

David Y
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks David, so in your opinion 16vs should do the job? I fitted a cdu because I was told it would protect my point motors (this is stuff which was bought before I joined this forum). I've learnt a lot since joining.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,308 Posts
QUOTE (frame69 @ 4 Feb 2009, 06:30) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Thanks David, so in your opinion 16vs should do the job? I fitted a cdu because I was told it would protect my point motors (this is stuff which was bought before I joined this forum). I've learnt a lot since joining.

Yes, feed 16vAC into the CDU, it gives Peco motors a good kick & will protect motor & pushbutton/passing contact better than straight AC.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for all your help guys, I shall seek a 16v unit. The 12v unit (50p from boot sale
) is being used for a fair amount of my lighting and testing things.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Whilst on the subject can anyone advise me a 16v unit and where to get one through the post rather soon?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,501 Posts
Needs to be 16 volts AC and 3 amps to provide enough power. 1 amp transformers are not up to the job.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
I had been a peco point motor man all my modelling life until last week. For my new layout I am usuing dcc point comntrioll for the first time, using lenz point decoders things.

I tried a seep and the difference is amazing. Half the cost, almost, easy to fit by comparison and work very well.

Shall have a number of peco point motors and some points for that up for sale on e-bay soon!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,308 Posts
QUOTE (RFS @ 4 Feb 2009, 09:05) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Needs to be 16 volts AC and 3 amps to provide enough power. 1 amp transformers are not up to the job.

Yes, that is true if you are using the AC output straight to the point motor but then you take the risk of the passing contacts burning/arcing as the make/break has a 3-4 amp load & then sticking & burning out the motor. The arcing can be easily seen using stud & probe.

Always safer to use a CDU & in this case, the transformer can be a 1 amp unit as it is the CDU that provides the power very quickly.
At the instant the circuit between button/contact - CDU & motor is made, the transistor in the CDU is switched off so no power from the transformer is used at all. When the circuit is broken, the transistor then allows the capacitor/s in the CDU to re-charge very quickly.

Of course, one can always use a Masterswitch unit which is basicaslly a CDU per motor with other facilites/abilities.
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
QUOTE (RFS @ 3 Feb 2009, 22:35) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Needs to be 16 volts AC and 3 amps to provide enough power. 1 amp transformers are not up to the job.

A 3amp transformer is not necessary when a CDU is used - 1amp is quite sufficient - the extra power will not "charge" the CDU up any quicker.

AFAIK most of the Peco point motors require 4amps to operate without the use of a CDU.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Just fitted a gauge master t1 with a cdu and my points are working %100,thank's again for the advice
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
604 Posts
You can get a 24V transformer, cased, from Maplins for around £15. I too have problems with point motors and find that some PECO surface mounted points will not work with a CDU.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,998 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
I've only connected one at the moment,they are all under board motors,so I wont know until all are wired up
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top