Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to know what people think of this DCC system and if they would reconmend it , is making the functions work easy? Etc Etc.

Much appreciated , i did search before hand , so i appoligise if i have recreated an old thread

·
No Longer Active.
13,319 Posts
It's a good system, very easy to use & well featured. Nice easy to read display & available in the UK from £180.00.

There was an issue with the el-cheapo Hornby decoders but that's now been resolved.

·
Registered
536 Posts
Hi Nathan
Can highly recommend the Prodigy Advance.
I have been using an imported one for over 15 months now without any problems.
Does everything I want it to and lots more too.
Itsvery easy to route set or operate functions. Nice clear display.
Only possible down side is that there isnt any computer control avialable, but I don.t want this option anyway.

·
Registered
18 Posts
have used the prodigy for the last 16 months with out any problems, easy to use , also if you have any technical questions gaugemaster are quick to answer,also the price has dropped to £180.00 if you shop around.

·
Registered
697 Posts
Note that MRC have now replaced the Prodigy Advance with the Prodigy Advanced Squared.
I'm not sure whether Gaugemaster will continue to be supplied with their product or if there's a replacement model in the pipeline?

The only drawback I can see with the Prodigy, is if you wish to use computer control at any stage. It doesn't currently support a computer interface.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hi, I'm also considering the Prodigy Advance 2 system for my layout (when completed)

I was also wondering if anybody has used the Gaugemaster DCC20 or DCC21 chips. My locos are old Hornby, Lima & Airfix models with no lights etc, so I only need a basic (but reliable) decoder.