Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE (jingling-geordie @ 16 Jun 2008, 10:07) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>What I meant to say were they compatible with hornby track and is it possible to control them with dcc
I was hoping to buy a arge quantity of these quite cheaply to enlarge / build a new layout, but it seems no-one on here must of heard of them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
QUOTE (jingling-geordie @ 17 Jun 2008, 08:51) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I was hoping to buy a arge quantity of these quite cheaply to enlarge / build a new layout, but it seems no-one on here must of heard of them.

Hello.

Sorry but I have never heard of Relco track & points.

The only Relco I have heard of is the Relco electronic track cleaners. Have you done a Google search ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
QUOTE (TonyDaly @ 17 Jun 2008, 09:01) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hello.

Sorry but I have never heard of Relco track & points.

The only Relco I have heard of is the Relco electronic track cleaners. Have you done a Google search ?
Well I saw a picture of them, though not very clear as to how they look you could clearly see the brand name relco, on them and they were advertised as branded relco 00 guage.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
QUOTE (jingling-geordie @ 17 Jun 2008, 11:13) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Well I saw a picture of them, though not very clear as to how they look you could clearly see the brand name relco, on them and they were advertised as branded relco 00 guage.

Maybe you can tell us where you saw them. I can't find Relco track no matter what I try. Could it have been Roco ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
QUOTE (jingling-geordie @ 17 Jun 2008, 14:54) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Thanks here is a link:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie...N:IT&ih=003

Hope this helps

Hello.

Now I go it.

What you saw are the Relco Electronic track cleaners of which they appears to be three. This has nothing to do with the track which could be anything. You could ask the seller what make the track is.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
QUOTE (jingling-geordie @ 17 Jun 2008, 17:46) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Brian, are they hornby compatible and dcc operable. I hope so as I have now bought them.

Hello.

You will not be able to use the Relco electronic track cleaners with DCC but the track will be fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
QUOTE (TonyDaly @ 17 Jun 2008, 17:55) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hello.

You will not be able to use the Relco electronic track cleaners with DCC but the track will be fine.
Hi thanks tony, I know about the track cleaners from elsewhere in these forums, I don't think they were included in the auction, it just stated Brand relco- points & motors 00guage. So I'm waiting delivery thought I'd ask in here to be sure but had to grab them quick before I got any replies. So as long as they work with my hornby layout and dcc I'll be okay. Just I am new to this lot or should say need refreshing after 35+yrs away from the scene.
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
QUOTE (jingling-geordie @ 17 Jun 2008, 18:46) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Brian, are they hornby compatible and dcc operable. I hope so as I have now bought them.
Yes - they are both code 100, although with the FLM trackbed the rail height will be slightly different, but easy to adjust with a little bit of packing. You will have to remove the FLM joiner/fishplate where they connect to Hornby.

Couple of small bits of advice ;

The FLM points come as standard with little clips to make the points non-isolating so ideal for DCC - if they have been removed (to make them isolating) we probably have some.

Do not use a CDU with FLM (or Roco for that matter) point motors - they are precision compared to Peco ones. They will snap over with a tiny click with no more that half an amp. If you use a CDU they will "bounce", buzz & probably burn out.

If they have not been used for some time just give them a clean & they will last forever.

You can power them on DCC from any accessory decoder that gives a pulse - don't use one that has any form of CDU built in.

Because you can run through them if trailing & set the "wrong way" they lend themselves to automation very well (we use FLM on the autmated storage yards on St.Laurent).

BTW - don't use the Relco with DCC - this was discussed some time ago on MRF - do a forum search to find the posts - the technical reasons are in there somewhere.

If you should decide not to use the FLM points then send me a PM.

Hope this helps.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
QUOTE (Brian Considine @ 17 Jun 2008, 18:33) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Yes - they are both code 100, although with the FLM trackbed the rail height will be slightly different, but easy to adjust with a little bit of packing. You will have to remove the FLM joiner/fishplate where they connect to Hornby.

Couple of small bits of advice ;

The FLM points come as standard with little clips to make the points non-isolating so ideal for DCC - if they have been removed (to make them isolating) we probably have some.

Do not use a CDU with FLM (or Roco for that matter) point motors - they are precision compared to Peco ones. They will snap over with a tiny click with no more that half an amp. If you use a CDU they will "bounce", buzz & probably burn out.

If they have not been used for some time just give them a clean & they will last forever.

You can power them on DCC from any accessory decoder that gives a pulse - don't use one that has any form of CDU built in.

Because you can run through them if trailing & set the "wrong way" they lend themselves to automation very well (we use FLM on the autmated storage yards on St.Laurent).

BTW - don't use the Relco with DCC - this was discussed some time ago on MRF - do a forum search to find the posts - the technical reasons are in there somewhere.

If you should decide not to use the FLM points then send me a PM.

Hope this helps.
Thanks my friend, just what I wanted to hear, at least it seems I got a good bargain, they are to build a goods yard on my layout I'm building and when I priced points and motors etc at my local shop I needed cardiac treatment £8 per point, so spotted that deal and grabbed it. My dcc is hornby elite and 2 point decoders. So if it all goes together well I'll be a happy man.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
QUOTE (jingling-geordie @ 17 Jun 2008, 19:52) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Thanks my friend, just what I wanted to hear, at least it seems I got a good bargain, they are to build a goods yard on my layout I'm building and when I priced points and motors etc at my local shop I needed cardiac treatment £8 per point, so spotted that deal and grabbed it. My dcc is hornby elite and 2 point decoders. So if it all goes together well I'll be a happy man.
Well they arrived today they are all peco points with motors, and ready ballasted, + 3 relco track cleaners
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (jingling-geordie @ 20 Jun 2008, 06:53) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Well they arrived today they are all peco points with motors, and ready ballasted, + 3 relco track cleaners

****Looks like a good deal on the point motors, but don't connect the relco track cleaners - they are not compatible with DCC and may cause damage.

Richard
DCCconcepts
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top