Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Generally when you post within a topic, you add your opinion or comment to the thread.

You may quote a previous poster by all means. Quotes are a good way to help others put your reply in context especially if your reply is some way on from the point you are replying to.

There is no real need to quote the previous post if you are replying directly afterwards.

There is also no real need to include that whole post of the one you are referring to. You may edit the quote as such:

QUOTE (name of member being quoted)... I like blue trains ...

Use suspension points '...' to indicate that there was other content before and/or after the text being quoted.

What I assume some members are doing is using the Quote Reply button next to a post:
instead of the normal topic reply button. This button should be used when you specifically want to quote the text of the post next to the button.

The topic reply button:
that is found at the top and bottom of the topic is what you should click when making a normal post, replying to the thread.

Including whole posts and loads of images in quotes just makes the process of reading threads more difficult for others. Please press the right button.
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
I seem to be trimming quotes all day long. The
button next to each post was being constantly misused. Perhaps it was a design flaw, but threads are just getting bogged down in quotes of previous posts.

So I've removed the
button and now, to reply to a topic, you will have to use the
button on the top or bottom of the topic page. Use the
button if you wish, but it has fewer formatting options.

If you do need to quote a previous post, you click the
button next to the post you want to quote - and you can do this to more that one post within the topic - and then you click the
button at the top or bottom of the page. The quotes that you requested will be inserted into your reply. Feel free to trim them down accordingly to get you message across.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
825 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 14 Nov 2008, 08:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>If you do need to quote a previous post, you click the
button next to the post you want to quote - and you can do this to more that one post within the topic - and then you click the
button at the top or bottom of the page. The quotes that you requested will be inserted into your reply. Feel free to trim them down accordingly to get you message across.
This seems to be arse about face to me. All messages come up with "+Quote" by default. You have to change to "-Quote" to quote the message. To me, "-" is more sugeestive of turning something off, than turning it on.

I just spent a very frustrating few minutes trying to figure out what the heck was going on, thinking that an update to firefox had somehow broken something.

I think this change need to be better publicised.

Andrew
 

·
No Longer Active.
Joined
·
13,319 Posts
It confused me for a little while but I do see Doug's point - I also find it irratating that some members don't trim the quote & include all the pictures.

Seems to work OK though.
 

·
Chief mouser
Joined
·
11,775 Posts
Personally I don't have a problem and it seemed straightforward to me, however I can see the point andrew is making about the quote box.

Regards
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
This is an issue with an update to the software. Not designed by myself. Since the Reply with quote button was added next to every post, people tend to gravitate towards that option. This adds quotes all over the place when they are not actually needed. This subsequently fills the database with excess data and increases the bandwidth required to download the data. It all ads up.

The Add Reply button is where it has always been. Please use that.

Take a look at how the +Quote button works. You don't have to post your test, but see how it operates. It changes colour on the posts that you want to quote. You can select more than one. Add your post by clicking the Add Reply button and you'll see the quotes from the selected posts in your post.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
All my quotes are hand picked
and carefully wrapped in quotes via the "Add Reply" button
so I hadn't noticed the change until I got to this thread...

David
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
560 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 15 Nov 2008, 09:16) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>This button:
(Reply with quote) is now gone. Don't worry, you won't miss it.


But Doug I doooo miss it. it was my favourite button. I don't like change, I like my rutt just the way it is


Andii
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
825 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 14 Nov 2008, 19:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Take a look at how the +Quote button works. You don't have to post your test, but see how it operates. It changes colour on the posts that you want to quote. You can select more than one. Add your post by clicking the Add Reply button and you'll see the quotes from the selected posts in your post.
In Firefox, at least, the only thing that changes colour is the +/- character, but that's changed anyway. The button itself does not change.

Andrew
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Yes, in the orange/grey skin that happens. The blue skin works slightly differently. I'm used to the blue skin from another forum, but I use the orange one here.

If anyone has a suggestion to make the button more clear, then please let me know.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Oh Gawd!

Now I'm totally confused and bewildered!!!

Looks like it would be easier in future to use a quill pen and snail mail!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
430 Posts
All of which just goes to prove that computers do what you tell 'em to do, not what you thought you told 'em to do!


Somethimes I almost feel sorry for people who know their way around programming, well, moderators anyway!


'Tis alright, I've taken me pill, I don't feel nuffink now!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
264 Posts
QUOTE (LTSR @ 4 Dec 2009, 23:58) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>All of which just goes to prove that computers do what you tell 'em to do, not what you thought you told 'em to do!


Ah!, but it has to be what the computer recognises.

When I worked for an International computer company, we had a phrase ready for people who complained that the computer was not doing what it should do.

It was 'Rubbish in - Rubbish out'.

AlanB

p.s. Oh.!! I did it right first time for the quote. !!!!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
430 Posts
Ah! Yes! The famous "GIGO" -- Garbage In, Garbage Out.

And therein lies the problem -- different worlds -- program writers in their ivory towers expect non-programmers to use the pesky things the way they think we should use 'em. Matters are improving though compared with earlier days and I do feel some sympathy with the poor souls that have the task, (and get the flak!), of getting less than robust programs running as a normal mortal would expect them to.

Lets face it, if you pick up a screwdriver you don't expect it to throw a hissy fit or, for that matter, try to saw the table in half!
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
If only the cause of the problem were that simple, .... but this is neither the time not the place to discuss it.

David
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
Top