Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm making a return to the hobby after several years away - the remnants of my last aborted layout exist only in my signature.

I've wanted to return for some time, but haven't been settled in one place so having a layout would have been difficult. I'm a music teacher and have to set a room aside in the house as a music room - so I've finally decided that it can double as a layout room.

I built a layout previously that I christened 'Aslanvale' because it lived in a wardrobe when not in use, and I'm returning to this concept. There's a double wardrobe in the music room that will accommodate a 90x175cm baseboard, and because there's no bed in the room it will go in and out quite easily.

I was modelling in OO last time because I love sound locos, but I would have been very, very limited in my space available so have moved back to N gauge. It's fantastic to see DCC sound starting to make real progress in N.

My rules:

Solid baseboard with no joins - I always seem to have major issues when I use multiple baseboards for a modular layout and N just doesn't have the tolerance.
Weight - I need to keep the layout manoeuvrable and manageable, so the baseboard will be as light as possible - quite possibly using foam.
DCC - I can't ever see myself returning to DC if I'm honest.
Prototype practice - erm, or lack of it. I'm building this layout to run some trains, enjoy some sound locos and build some nice scenery. I like bridges and have always wanted to construct a model river. Aslanvale will be in the UK, but other than that very little will be off limits.