Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
Just wanted to "throw this one out there" in case anybody knows a solution (if there is one!)
I have a Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance and accessory decoders of the same make. When I built my present DCC layout, I re-used existing Peco PL-10 point motors on my turnouts (Peco Electrofrog). I have, as suggested in the handbook, provided power to the decoders using a 16v AC output (of an old H&M Duette). This works fine for throwing individual points, but when I attempt to set up a "route" I can't get more than two points to throw together at one time (the system will allow 8 on a route if this was possible). I know it is probably due to the current consumption of the motors so will probably have to live with it as I don't want to tear the track up and start again with different motors!
I just wondered if anyone has had a similar experience and found a way round it. It's a pity as one of the theoretical advantages of DCC control for points (route setting) seems to be unavailable to me as things stand!
Keith

·
Registered
1,630 Posts
Use a decoder with a built in capacitor discharge unit. You may have to allocate the points carefully to prevent too many being fired on the same decoder at the same time, how many depends on your decoder and your points. I use the MERG decoders, about £12 for four points though you have to join MERG to by them, then assemble them yourself. It happily fires two SEEPs in parallel. Some commercial decoders also have CDUs though I don't have knowledge of these.

The other alternative is probably to arrange for some software that will fire the points in sequence with a short delay. This either requires software-writing talents or a big budget as the commercial software isn't cheap!

·
Paul Hamilton aka "Lancashire Fusilier"
844 Posts