Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
I have wired in some of my locos decoders so the the engine runs the wromg way .I believe that it is possible to reverse their direction by altering a CV which will be a lot less hassle than getting the soldering iron out again. Can anyone of you DCC experts advise how to do it. My decoders are either Lenz standard ,ZTC 4007 or TCS M1-UK and I have a Dynamis control.
 

·
DT
Joined
·
4,794 Posts
Just to be super clear - in true forum fashion where you get multiple similar answers to a simple question...


Just add 1 to the existing CV 29 value. Read it first and then do the maths. The existing value will be different depending on manufacturer default setting.
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 28 Aug 2008, 20:36) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Just to be super clear - in true forum fashion where you get multiple similar answers to a simple question...


Just add 1 to the existing CV 29 value. Read it first and then do the maths. The existing value will be different depending on manufacturer default setting.

***Spot on Doug.

Most common default is 6 in CV29.

BUT..... You cannot read the CV to check it with a dynamis

So if you have a short address for that loco, set it to 7. If you have a long address, set it to 39

if you muck it up, don't worry, just do a reset (cv 8 to 8 if lenz, Cv30 to 2 if TCS) then address will be 3 and CV29 will be at default.

The direction fix should be your next step, set CV29 to 7, then change the address however U want.

all fixed

Richard
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (alanb @ 28 Aug 2008, 16:22) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>On the Lenz, it is CV 29. If you can read CV's, it will read 2, 3, or 6.

Try 2 first, if it is the same, try 3.

I think CV 29 is the same on all decoders.

AlanB

*** Cv29 is always the same for every brand now except for Hornby, who only part implement it. be careful advising here - if the long address has already been set it could be 34, 35 or 38 not 2, 3 or 6.

The poster also said he had dynamis which cannot read CVs

This sort of problem is common, and why I really push people towards a system that lets them read the settings - otherwise its easy to get mixed up and make errors in settings

Richard
 

·
Retired...
Joined
·
106 Posts
QUOTE (Chirkwood @ 28 Aug 2008, 21:29) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Thanks guys you never disappoint!!! I,ll have a go tomorrow and let you know how I get on
You could download Decoder-Pro - free- from JMRI and it should allow you to simply read and write to any CVs it can see for your particular decoder.
Rob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
340 Posts
QUOTE (Richard Johnson @ 28 Aug 2008, 16:52) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>*** Cv29 is always the same for every brand now except for Hornby, who only part implement it. be careful advising here - if the long address has already been set it could be 34, 35 or 38 not 2, 3 or 6.

The poster also said he had dynamis which cannot read CVs

This sort of problem is common, and why I really push people towards a system that lets them read the settings - otherwise its easy to get mixed up and make errors in settings

Richard

Hi Richard, can the Nce Powercab read CVs?
And the Hornby elite?
Thanks,
Ben
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (ben100 @ 29 Aug 2008, 22:44) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Richard, can the Nce Powercab read CVs?
And the Hornby elite?
Thanks,
Ben

***Yes, the powercab can read CV's. Also the Elite, however if you ever intend to run sound loco's or have loco's with switchable lighting, I wouldn't consider the Elite - its method of accessing functions is very clumsy indeed.

Richard
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Had a go this evening and now all my locos are running the same way . Many thanks especially Richard whos simple straightforward advice was so easy to follow
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,629 Posts
Richard (and all the others) can be very helpful here. It's a great forum!


Of course, if all of the above had failed, you could have just turned the layout around, or used a mirror when driving!!!!!
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (Chirkwood @ 30 Aug 2008, 06:08) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Had a go this evening and now all my locos are running the same way . Many thanks especially Richard whos simple straightforward advice was so easy to follow


*** Its a pleasure to be of help... keep asking whenever you need!

Most problems are solvable and most questions can have simple answers. DOn't ever not ask if help is needed... Each time we tackle another issue or solve another forum members problem it adds to the resources for everyone to learn from.

regards, Richard
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top