Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just purchased one to go on my module.
On a small kids layout I'm making I'm going to use it as a Tardis. (I wonder how many will do so!) I'm slightly disappointed that Hornby haven't been able to model the spacious interior which would have been prototypical but maybe Roco will one day!

Black Tree Designs http://www.black-tree-design.com/main.php?...p;shp=&tot=
do 28mm (close enough for me) models of Dr Who figures so I thought a few Daleks plus the good Dr and an assistant. I'll have to spend a bit of time choosing which Dr and even more time the assistant! It doesn't look like they've modelled Billie yet!

I think scenes like that draw a good smile from onlookers. Do you?

·
Premium Member
7,397 Posts
QUOTE On a small kids layout I'm making I'm going to use it as a Tardis. (I wonder how many will do so!)

I've been doing this with the Harburn Hobbies one for the last five years.

It draws interest the first time someone sees it, but rarely after. What I do now is move it around the layout so I have a spot the Tardis thing going. Busch have a flying saucer you could use with it. However I'm holding our for Sea Devils!

DWDEAL4 Doctor Who complete Set £1050 (12 monthly payments of £87.50) is a bit heavy though

·
DT
4,794 Posts
I wonder what came first, the period police box or the Tardis.

Hornby have now secured the rights from the BBC to manufacture plastic Airfix kits of the Tardis from the Dr Who series. I wonder if this came about from them asking for permission to build the police box for the Skaledale range?

Watch out for kits this Christmas with flashing lights and all. The first Airfix kit to incorporate electronics.

·
Chief mouser
11,775 Posts
QUOTE (Doug @ 1 Aug 2007, 07:54) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I wonder what came first, the period police box or the Tardis.