Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to model trains (well I did have a go many years ago) and I am going to build a Shunting Yard 'N' gauge. I have already recieved advice that DCC is the way to go, and I am thinking that NCE Powercab is what I will choose.

My questions are:

1. Which loco is good for Slow speed. I fancy something like a Saddle Tank and a small Diesel (both British of course).?

2. I envisage about 9 points on the layout, do I go Live or Insulated Frogs, and what do I need if I want to operate them from the NCE Powercab.

Spottydog

·
Just another modeller
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (spottydog @ 25 Sep 2008, 06:01) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I'm new to model trains (well I did have a go many years ago) and I am going to build a Shunting Yard 'N' gauge. I have already recieved advice that DCC is the way to go, and I am thinking that NCE Powercab is what I will choose.

My questions are:

1. Which loco is good for Slow speed. I fancy something like a Saddle Tank and a small Diesel (both British of course).?

2. I envisage about 9 points on the layout, do I go Live or Insulated Frogs, and what do I need if I want to operate them from the NCE Powercab.

Spottydog

***Others can better recommend loco choice, however I'd say the newer the design the better, as recent production has better pickups.

Definately electrofrog for all pontwork - and modified as per the current threads running on OO peco points - you will need live frogs for small loco's to traverse pointwork without hesitation and stalling.

to operate from the DCC handset you will need point decoders - they are usually sold with several decoder "channels" in a single easily installed device - for example the Lenz LS150 will switch 6 points independently. The LS150 is totally compatible with the PowerCab and is easy to set up and operate with PowerCab too.

Richard

·
Premium Member
4,854 Posts
Hi Spottydog and welcome to the MRF.