Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
garage hobbit!!!
1,715 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, this has been propabilly done here before, if so I apologuise, but I am a complete novice when it comes to signals, never got passed those rather large over scale Hornby ones

What I am in need of is to locate someone who makes a decent range of LNER/BR Eastern signals. Easy I here everyone shouting at their screens, well I only want plastic kits, I have never worked in brass or have any of the tools for it, so that puts MSE kits out of the frame (sorry Andrew Hartshown, nothing wrong with them) and Ratio only do one kit, I need a range that will make up into a variety of different signals including a gantry

Any help would be grateful

Many thanks

·
Premium Member
2,837 Posts
Ratio do a gantry kit. I've got a spare one which I'm happy to send you for nothing. The packet has been opened because I intended to use it on a layout several years ago but never got around to making it. I certainly won't need it on my latest layout.

Send me a message with your address if you would like it. I've also got some ratio eastern signals made up many years ago before I knew about the different styles for different regions. You can have those as well.

·
Registered
4,497 Posts
Yes, both kits and ready-made realistic semaphore signals are difficult to get hold of, and Ratio's limited range is all we have in plastic kits that I'm aware of. I have tried them but found the all-plastic posts (particularly the round ones) very susceptible to damage which is why I've moved across to MSE's products.

Last year's MRE (Model Railway Express - Pat Hammond's website at www.mremag.com) poll came up with signals the most desired accessory - this year's poll is running at the moment in conjunction with virtually all the British model railway publications - do go and vote for signals this year - after all Hornby could do it some 40+ years ago!

Regards,
John

·
garage hobbit!!!