Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 563 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,836 Posts
Hi all, it's been a while since I was on here....lots of things been going on and the layout project was forgotten for a while.

The Buzzard Line is no more. I spent months deciding whether to continue in my garage or go for the loft. There were pro's and cons for both but in the end, the loft is such dead space at the moment that it just seems silly not to go for that option. Yes, it's not perfect but it's definitely workable. Eventually, with the budget etc, I may look to get a Velux put in and board/insulate the roof, but for now, it will be fine:

Here's the loft ahead of any frame/board work:





I have now commenced the framework build in the loft and will post some pics of my progress at some point. I am enjoying the build again and feel excited by the whole project.


It's good to be back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,836 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE (kristopher1805 @ 17 Sep 2012, 14:47) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Apart from those cross beams you have no trusses in the way so the loft looks good, you have a good space there.

Cheers Kristopher. Yeah the cross beams aren't ideal but the way I've worked the plan is to incorporate the far beam underneath the board anyway so it become irrelevant, so it only leaves the beam at the hatch end to traverse. It "should" be ok. I need to finalise my layout but here's what i'm thinking currently. Don't want anything too complicated.



The Red levels are upper, yellow lower and orange the gradients. The Yellow line follow under the red line on the left hand side.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,182 Posts
Hi Ian

I'm looking forward to see this one develop.

Just wondering why the sudden changes in direction at the upper station when you have so much room fow sweeping curves instead of straight platforms?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,836 Posts
QUOTE (Rhiwderin_Ray @ 17 Sep 2012, 15:28) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Ian

I'm looking forward to see this one develop.

Just wondering why the sudden changes in direction at the upper station when you have so much room fow sweeping curves instead of straight platforms?

Hi Ray,

Thanks for the feedback....I suppose I was just trying to add some variety but I take your point entirely....I will have a look and try a redesign.

How's this - the platforms are not how I'd have them....just there as a guide.



Cheers
Ian
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,182 Posts
Hi Ian. I would put a sweeping curve along the upper straight, with the platforms there not on the corner.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,592 Posts
It's a good space

You've got a folded figure of eight, mainly two track main line. I would make it two track right through and then plan my sidings. You appear to have ample space.
Elevate the outer quite high then plan for a viaduct (125-135mm). I wish I'd planned that in on mine.

Separation being by height. By bevelling the corners of your operating well , gain space for more features to be fitted in and moved around.
Before laying any bench work have a good look at lighting, it's essential to get this right first, and if your going to do it put a velex window (their not expensive)
in that keeps the loft reasonably tolerable when it's hot.

Finally if your going to redesign, and I believe you should then consider some type of staging area or fiddle yard.

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,836 Posts
QUOTE (Rhiwderin_Ray @ 17 Sep 2012, 17:46) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Ian. I would put a sweeping curve along the upper straight, with the platforms there not on the corner.

Hi Ray,

I'm not sure I get what you mean? I'll have another look and see if I can feature some. How's this:



QUOTE (Makemineadouble @ 17 Sep 2012, 18:11) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>It's a good space

You've got a folded figure of eight, mainly two track main line. I would make it two track right through and then plan my sidings. You appear to have ample space.
Elevate the outer quite high then plan for a viaduct (125-135mm). I wish I'd planned that in on mine.

Separation being by height. By bevelling the corners of your operating well , gain space for more features to be fitted in and moved around.
Before laying any bench work have a good look at lighting, it's essential to get this right first, and if your going to do it put a velex window (their not expensive)
in that keeps the loft reasonably tolerable when it's hot.

Finally if your going to redesign, and I believe you should then consider some type of staging area or fiddle yard.



Hi MMD,

Many thanks for your comments. How do you mean when you say "make it two track right through"? I was thinking about having a viaduct or bridge of some kind along the upper level along the top. Also, goo idea to bevel the corners slightly on the bench as this will also make it more pleasing on the eye.

I am going to fit two 6ft strip lights in the loft for now and the velux will be a future project.

Thanks
Ian


QUOTE (Cpt Cheddar @ 17 Sep 2012, 22:14) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>With the turntable/shed in the bottom corner, can you reach past to access the inevitable derailment underneath your top level?

Hi Cpt Cheddar,

That's a very good point. I "think" it will be ok.....I am going to make it as "derailment free" under there as possible.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,592 Posts
Lighting
personally I don't think two strip lights are sufficient. I've got 16 6ft twins in the loft and the lighting level is adequate without shadows.
Layout
I think you should give us some indication of the size of your layout.
Re: a fiddle yard, your only option is below. That means adequate clearance and care with wiring.

Your drawing would be clearer if you drew each level separately, you might have to do this anyway.
Yes as it's drawn it look like the twin track main line reduces to one track.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,182 Posts
Hi Ian

Well you have got my drift. The curve is in the right place, i.e. on the long straight, but the curve should start and end at each corner making the curve very long and sweeping.

You can see an example on this thread Post #82 http://www.modelrailforum.com/forums/index...75&start=75

Plus the station looks a bit small considering the space you have, it could easily be twice as long.

Hope this helps.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,592 Posts
Lighting
personally I don't think two strip lights are sufficient. I've got 16 6ft twins in the loft and the lighting level is adequate without shadows.
Layout
I think you should give us some indication of the size of your layout.
Re: a fiddle yard, your only option is below. That means adequate clearance and care with wiring.

Your drawing would be clearer if you drew each level separately, you might have to do this anyway.
Yes as it's drawn it look like the twin track main line reduces to one track.

regards
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,836 Posts
QUOTE (Makemineadouble @ 18 Sep 2012, 12:16) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Lighting
personally I don't think two strip lights are sufficient. I've got 16 6ft twins in the loft and the lighting level is adequate without shadows.
Layout
I think you should give us some indication of the size of your layout.
Re: a fiddle yard, your only option is below. That means adequate clearance and care with wiring.

Your drawing would be clearer if you drew each level separately, you might have to do this anyway.
Yes as it's drawn it look like the twin track main line reduces to one track.

regards

Size wise, roughly speaking it's 3m x 4.2m. I will split the drawings - here's the lower level:



The main station is going to be loosely modelled on Goathland in the North York Moors.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,836 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
QUOTE (Julian2011 @ 18 Sep 2012, 16:02) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi
Not quite sure what you mean.

These might do it though

SL-80, SL-89, SL-88 and some flex to get the right space between the //s.

Perhaps I missed what you were after.

Julian

Hi Julian, sort of but I want just a normal crossover rather than a variable one. I'll try out some options.
 

·
Road-hog123
Joined
·
152 Posts
Well I faffed around on AnyRail trying to understand what you wanted... this help?

(The below one is how I achieved a similar thing in set-track... note how both end up with slightly wonky points (not aligned vertically))


Nathan
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
10,003 Posts
QUOTE One other thing I meant to ask was can the following track layout be done using streamline points etc? I cant see how off hand:

The track centres for Peco Streamline geometry (50mm I think) are closer together than Setrack which is around 60mm. If you keep those track centres you are going to have something quite messy.

What you could do is make the track centres on that side of the layout 50mm so that you can use Streamline and widen / narrow from the Setrack centres on the curves at either end of the straight.

You may also have to start the crossover a bit nearer the centre of the stretch because the angle of Streamline points is shallower so it takes longer for the lines to diverge. As there isn't all that much track in that section, I don't see that that should be a problem.

David
 
1 - 20 of 563 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top