Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently returned back to railway modelling (43, last did it as a teenager). I've built the baseboard, and decided on my track plan and I am about to start laying the track. But what to lay it on ? I have got some Peco Streamline Moulded Ballast Inlay, but to be honest, I don't like it. If I look at all the REALLY NICE layout's in the magazines, they never seem to use it. What's more, if I do use it, how to I make that nice little pile of ballast either side.

Sorry guys, I know there are similar postings to this, but the only relevant one I found was a debate about foam versus cork. I'm a bit of a novice after all these years.

Ideas or advice would be welcome.

·
Registered
526 Posts
The choice seems to lie somewhere among 1) nothing 2) cork 3) foam and 4) rubber .

There are exponents of all of them.

I cheated, I used Tillig Styrostone.

Nothing:- obviously glueing track straight onto baseboards is an option but can be noisy.
Cork:- Good but expensive now as cheap cork DIY tiles seem in short supply.
Foam:- solid foam is OK but again the cheap stuff is a bit inclined to go to chips. Proper layout foam as you have is OK if you spray paint the track and foam with acrylic paints. Don't use spirit based anything on this stuff as it dissolves.
Rubber:- Camping sleep mats have been suggested.

·
Premium Member
4,854 Posts
I think the general consensus here is to use a closed-cell type of foam such as is sold by Woodland Scenics. The pre-formed Hornby/Peco type track bed is 'open-cell' which goes brittle and crumbles away over time.

·
Premium Member
6,201 Posts
Hi The Shunt Master,

Welcome to the forum