Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
763 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if anyone else had any experience of using any of the multitude of available simulators and such like.
I have got microsoft train simulator and various UK add ons as well some are good and some not so.
The original simulator is a good one and has stood the test of time well with a few tweaks here and there and a couple of additional locos thrown in on newer editions. The Microsoft website also has some downloads to enhance it further and there are numerous independent add ons some good, some not so good there is also a thriving online download market and a lot of forums as well.


Among the add ons i have is the London and South East one which I thought was excellent at first until I found that the whole package is messy with various loco's appearing in the list not being available incorrectly labelled consists also incorrectly labelled. I went on their website and downloaded some updates designed to improve this but which made it worse to the point where error messages flash up saying the program can't find loco's and consists. Despite trying to fix this issue several times and contacting their technical bods the problem persisted and in the end i uninstalled and reinstalled not only the add on but the whole simulator which is very time consuming.The only real plus side is the free months subscription to UK train sim and its download library.


I have various preserved railway lines including the KWVR line which also includes the now defunct former Great Northern line from Keighley to Queensbury plus a good selection of loco's.


The West Somerset railway add on which has a superb line with a lot of thought paid to the scenery but very few loco's. The line is also very long as well which is nice if you are actually travelling it in real life but very long winded on a simulator.
The severn Valley railway add on which i so far haven't installed but from the reviews has a good selection of steam traction.


I have a couple of loco add on packs too to complement it all but if I were to install everything at once it would probably wipe out the spare memory on my PC.

Hornby Virtual Railway
I bought the first one and found it useful if a little frustrating at times despite its limitations it was good to work out whether a layout would work when finished without having to lay any track.

Virtual Railway2
I gave up on this as i couldn't get the hang of laying the flexi track in anything like a reasonable position.


Trainz railway simulator
Installed it, ran it for 5 minutes uninstalled it. Neither train set nor real world but nowhere in between I don't know or care if the newer versions are any better the original was pants so thats enough to put me off.


If anyone has any additional comments or used any of these or other products please do tell.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
982 Posts
I had the original Hornby Virtual Railway to assist planning layouts. It was a little basic and could only be used in layouts of a certain size.

Three years ago I was at Model Rail Scotland and came across the Trainz stand. On it they had a class37 at full roar on a goods train. I purchased it on an impulse buy. Within a month I was hooked. I had started planning possible layouts and driving trains on them. Then I moved to fantasy layouts , you knowthe ones we've really wanted to build since kids. Then there was a realisation. I didn't need to build model layouts all the time , I could build real routes.

My original Trainz version (UTC I think) was a little limited. So I moved to TRS2004 version in Jan 2004. Since then I've never looked back and I am now creating actual routes (There is a newer version TRS2006)

My first was Glasgow- Edinburgh . There is actually a default route Glasgow- Falkirk in TRS2004 but I felt I could do it better. So armed with OS maps and Quails Trackplans off I went. I have to say I'm pretty pleased with the result and can now drive Turbostars over the route including the plunge into Cowlairs tunnel -Fascinating

Being part of the Trainz community means you can download routes and rolling stock created by others. You will find a version of the East Coast Mainline on there KX to Doncaster. Someone else has created Settle- Carlisle . There are routes covering Exeter, Devon,WCML Preston- Shap. Yorkshire including NYMR. There are also lots of freelance routes from humble branchlines to 4 track electrified mainlines.So if you don't like creating routes you have several already made. Once into the program you will be tempted though.

My latest route is the lines out of Glasgow St Enoch and Central to the coast. I've been doing this since October but am only as far as Paisley, although the complicated lines around Glasgow and Shields Road in particular are all in place.

Rolling stock: To be honest the original trainz ones are OK but the latest ones available for download (most free) are superb. For modern routes or BR Blue/Grey 08/20/24/25/26/27/33/35/37/40/47/50/55/56/58/60/66/67/HST/Voyager/Turbostar/81/86/87/90/314/507/508/313/315 /455 are all available with more coming. Classes 31 and 45 are being worked on

For steam, well most of the large Stanier classes are there as with GWR from 14xx to King. There is a payware 9F and Britannia. Lots of BR Standards. The most recent superb freeware creation is a Rebuilt Merchant Navy.

Of course you can model anything from abroad. From Union Pacific , to TGVs, German, French, Italian,Swiss You name it its on there.

There are even Trams on there. Fancy driving a Glasgow Standard or Coronation?

I have Microsoft Train Simulator as well but its on longer used. To me Trainz is much more flexible. If you want to design and build layouts Trainz is better.Only word of warning is you do need a powerfull computer and the program does also seem sensitive to which graphics card you use- unlike Microsoft which will work with virtually any graphics card and is a bit more robust.

And the basic package which allows this all to happen is priced at less than the cost of a Hornby Gresley Coach!

Russell
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
>the basic package ... is priced at less than the cost of a Hornby Gresley Coach!

Good
>sensitive to which graphics card you use
which will cost more than a full retail Bachmann WD Austerity? ;-)

I believe the latest version of Trainz is more than the cost of a Hornby Pullman now.

David
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,293 Posts
Hornby are currently revising the HVR2 package, hence its disappearance from many shops. No ETA for the new version yet....

60134
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
982 Posts
Per dwb

">sensitive to which graphics card you use
which will cost more than a full retail Bachmann WD Austerity"

Even if it did it would still be value for money. By the way, the Austerity in 2-8-0 and 2-10-0 versions is both available in Trainz.

I merely mentioned this because I think its wise to pint out that Trainz may not operate on some PC systems but will in most.

A whole railway system with operating signals etc for ther price of a Pullman. You bet!

Russell
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
I am merely jealous because this PC is getting on for six years old and despite having a "good for its day" NVidea Geforce 2 card I don't think it is going to manage Trainz ;-)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
My experiences with MSTS have largely been positive, mainly due to the at-cost route CDs from UKTrainSim, and also the commercially release products. Only problems I have had with it have been when I have run routes that the computer couldn't handle. The important thing with MSTS is that when you delete something, you will likely have to delete some other things as well; and to get a single download to show up in game, you will also need to create a couple of things too!

All in all, its a good program, but is now creaking a little bit with the quality of content that it is running now! Its relatively simple to create activities in MSTS, but routes are difficult, thanks largely to an editor that crashes now and again


Trainz is good for creating routes, but not so much for activities, although this has improved somewhat over the course of releases. As has been mentioned, its not quite a model rail sim, and not quite the real thing, but unfortunately for the casual user, it appears that more and more content is being produced as payware which, although excellent quality, cannot all be bought at once


Has anyone tried the freeware program, BVE? Its a Japanese cab simulator, and the latest versions allow for excellent recreation of physics and lighting levels. Recent routes produced include the London Underground Northern Line, and also part of the Birmingham Cross-City Line. Its a good program to play, but creating is again tricky, as its done in a programming code, or in a basic thirdparty utility.

Haven't tried HVR, so can't comment there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
121 Posts
I started with the basic Hornby virtual railway and moved on to HVR2 which permitted much larger layouts. I use this to plan my next layout in principle. The only gripe I have with HVR2 is that if you install the latest upgrade it will not permit the use of points on raised track. One way round this is to uninstall the programme, build a layout with points incorporated on the raised level then upgrade to the latest version. If you want to change the layout, just store the points on one side and move them in as required.

I have MS Train simulator, originally I thought it was quite good but you can only control the loaded loco. The ability to make my own layouts is completely beyond my comprehension.

I bought Trainz 2004 from my local supermarket for £6. This is excellent so far. You can operate as many trains as you like, the turntables work and although not easy I understand how to build my own layouts. I am considering buying the new 2006 version.

Hopefully MS will get motivated to improve their simulator.

Brian
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
763 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
QUOTE (60134 @ 12 Feb 2006, 12:37)Hornby are currently revising the HVR2 package, hence its disappearance from many shops. No ETA for the new version yet....
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hopefully this will be a damn sight more user friendly than VR2 was. I gave up on it in spite of inputting the dimensions i wanted for my loft layout as i couldn't get to grips with laying flexi track which seemed to put itself wherever it felt like it.

Quote..."I have MS Train simulator, originally I thought it was quite good but you can only control the loaded loco. The ability to make my own layouts is completely beyond my comprehension."...
I bought the approved handbook in the hope of being able to glean some useful information from it but alas I too couldn't make head nor tail of it. I hope they bring out Train simulator2 if only in the hope they make the route designer into a useable accessory instead of requiring the user to have a degree in computer geekspeak(why does the word microsoft always mean complicated?)
On the subject of trainz maybe i was a little hasty in uninstalling it and it might get dug out again after reading some of the comments on here, I think that the problem was i ran train sim first and found trainz to be somewhat lacking by comparison.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
Hi Scooter, thanks for the info re Rail 3d, I've had a look, but before I download anything, can you tell me if it will enable me to 'plan' a layout and print off a trackplan?

Thank you,

Doug
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
77 Posts
QUOTE (dooferdog @ 26 Aug 2006, 20:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Scooter, thanks for the info re Rail 3d, I've had a look, but before I download anything, can you tell me if it will enable me to 'plan' a layout and print off a trackplan?

Thank you,

Doug

Yes, piece of cake, easy as pie. It's what I used to to my Track Plan, and yes, you can print of the Track Plan no problem. It allows you to determine the "size and scale" of your Printout, by inputting the number of pages down and across you want it to appear over.

Admittedly, like the majority of other users, I primarily use it for "real" Railway simulations. eg. WCML, West Highland line. Crewe area etc. Some really big layouts are available. The User group has a Forum like this one, on:-

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/railway3d/

There is full Help and User Guide available from the menu in the software. It's very comprehensive. In fact, if anything, it's better than some that comes with some expensive Proprietary software. If you do get stuck with anything, you just ask. Help is never far away. TBH, the author of the software, and the author of the User Guide, are almost always on-hand.

If you wish, I can send you a screen image of my layout Track Plan by email.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
Thanks, Scooter, that would be great. I've made an e-note of the details, and will have a bash when the days start to draw in. I am currently using MSTS, given as a present, but I keep ''exceeding passenger comfort levels'' too often at the moment!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
186 Posts
We are all forgetting the real bottom of the market. Priced at less than a Bachmann vent van it is....
Create you own model railway.
To be honest this is a piss poor simulator combined with all of the innacuracies in the loco, eg TMT on the "Black 5s" tender or the "inner city 125" in bright red but you have the ability to set control on the railway making it so it runs automatically and all you do is watch. Saying that it is still crap.
Did you know on trainz you can set up working roads and Industry? and me and my friend found a way to number the Locomotives.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top