Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Hi all,

After looking in my loco box i came across a twin motor bachman loco i would like to fit DDC to, would it require two decoders running in a consist or locked together or could one decoder be used ? any recomendations for a suitable decoder are welcomed ... on my loco tester it draws 0.32 amp as can be seen it is a big heavy chassis 190mm long.

http://nick--orwin.photoblog.me.uk/p51889352.html

Many Thanks.
 

·
In depth idiot
Joined
·
7,683 Posts
Are the two motor shafts connected? If so a single decoder, subject to it having the current capacity to handle both motors at stall would be ok. If the motors are independent, then a decoder each, run permanently as a consist once speed matching has been set up, would be my choice. For smoothness it may be necessary to run with back-EMF reduced or off on one decoder of the pair.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
774 Posts
Hi

I put 1 decoder into a loco that had 2 motors and no problem at all. After looking at the photo 1 TCS will be fine.

m
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Thank you for the input gents

I have drawn a diagram for the two motors is it correct so the two motors dont work against each other, sorry i'm not good with paint ......

http://nick--orwin.photoblog.me.uk/p51916773.html

The decoder of choice would be a TCS m1 is this suitable or have limitations ?
 

·
is asleep
Joined
·
758 Posts
QUOTE (upnick @ 13 Jul 2008, 20:01) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>The decoder of choice would be a TCS m1 is this suitable or have limitations ?
Bonjour Upnick,

It will be highly suitable, with a continuous 1.3A supply (and 2A max) it will have no trouble at all with heavy loads. From the picture it seems that each motor is fairly small anyway - i.e. if combined they would make one normal sized N scale motor. Your circuit diagram is fine too!

I hope this helps! I've just fitted about a dozen of these decoders to various things and apart from a Microsoft-esque "the decoder knows best" approach to BEMF by not providing adjustable parameters I have to say these are both economical and give stupendously smooth performance.

I hope this helps!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
QUOTE (goedel @ 13 Jul 2008, 21:08) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Bonjour Upnick,

It will be highly suitable, with a continuous 1.3A supply (and 2A max) it will have no trouble at all with heavy loads. From the picture it seems that each motor is fairly small anyway - i.e. if combined they would make one normal sized N scale motor. Your circuit diagram is fine too!

I hope this helps! I've just fitted about a dozen of these decoders to various things and apart from a Microsoft-esque "the decoder knows best" approach to BEMF by not providing adjustable parameters I have to say these are both economical and give stupendously smooth performance.

I hope this helps!

Hi Goedel,

Many thanks for the inforamation it is very helpful and this week i will convert the loco to dcc,

Yes the M1 is a great decoder just fitted about the same amount to my locos without any problems.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
The Bachmann N gauge EMD DD40XX is now fitted with its decoder and LED's it is a huge loco i hope can negotiate any curves i decide to use
decoder of choice was digitrax's DZ143 to use it up and the fact it is of course 4 function as the purple lead has been cut short and tucked away the green lead for a beacon to be fitted at a later date ..... i have a 1.5mm incandescent bulb for this but it is rated at 1.5V and need to know how to reduce its voltage

The loco need some attention on the body where over the years it has lost its front and rear rails though the whole of the rails i will replace with brass, and finish the trucks in Harbour mist grey adding etched irons and piping.
Here are a few pictures of it showing how huge it is next to a class 37 for comparison and the wiring installed .........

http://nick--orwin.photoblog.me.uk/p52061933.html
http://nick--orwin.photoblog.me.uk/p52061935.html
http://nick--orwin.photoblog.me.uk/p52061936.html
http://nick--orwin.photoblog.me.uk/p52061932.html

Many thanks for everybodies help it is greatly appreciated.
 

·
Just another modeller
Joined
·
9,983 Posts
QUOTE (upnick @ 20 Jul 2008, 21:03) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>The Bachmann N gauge EMD DD40XX is now fitted with its decoder and LED's it is a huge loco i hope can negotiate any curves i decide to use
decoder of choice was digitrax's DZ143 to use it up and the fact it is of course 4 function as the purple lead has been cut short and tucked away the green lead for a beacon to be fitted at a later date ..... i have a 1.5mm incandescent bulb for this but it is rated at 1.5V and need to know how to reduce its voltage

The loco need some attention on the body where over the years it has lost its front and rear rails though the whole of the rails i will replace with brass, and finish the trucks in Harbour mist grey adding etched irons and piping.
Here are a few pictures of it showing how huge it is next to a class 37 for comparison and the wiring installed .........

http://nick--orwin.photoblog.me.uk/p52061933.html
http://nick--orwin.photoblog.me.uk/p52061935.html
http://nick--orwin.photoblog.me.uk/p52061936.html
http://nick--orwin.photoblog.me.uk/p52061932.html

Many thanks for everybodies help it is greatly appreciated.

****Nick - here's a simple way to get 1.5 volts easily.... functions are effectively DC so this well proven DC way to get low voltage should be OK.

You may have to experiment with the Resistor value a bit but don't go too low - the drop across the diodes will be appx 1 to 1.5v so will provide power safely for the bulb.

Getting it to flash later may be affected - depends on D's abilities really.....

If U have problems with this a small LED is a good answer :)

regards

Richard
DCCconcepts
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
QUOTE (Richard Johnson @ 20 Jul 2008, 15:46) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>****Nick - here's a simple way to get 1.5 volts easily.... functions are effectively DC so this well proven DC way to get low voltage should be OK.

You may have to experiment with the Resistor value a bit but don't go too low - the drop across the diodes will be appx 1 to 1.5v so will provide power safely for the bulb.

Getting it to flash later may be affected - depends on D's abilities really.....

If U have problems with this a small LED is a good answer :)

regards

Richard
DCCconcepts

Hi Richard,

Many thanks for the information will get some diodes soon and fit it in, & let you know how i go on.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top