Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are still waiting for the first Viessmann 5300 controller or 5380 panel owner to make a comment on these products, they are being sold in this country as I have been reliably informed by importers...

Are there any teething problems with these units? or the product updates??? or is all working well?
Puzzler..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE (wiggy25 @ 11 Jun 2008, 16:35) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Why don't you contact DCC supplies?

He has them in stock according to his web site!

DCC Supplies Commander

Cheers

Thanks.. Yes I know, but I would like to hear from someone who has purchased one of these controllers, but it's proving to be a bit difficult, because I have yet to find anyone who has taken the plunge and purchased one.

This looks to be a state of the art piece of kit, and Yes it's pricey.. but is it worth that kind of outlay? as I have said before, I would love to have my layout on the controller screen or panel, but we just need to know more about this,


Puzzler..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
QUOTE (neil_s_wood @ 11 Jun 2008, 22:15) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>As this has only relatively recently come on to the market the owners may have not had a chance find out all the units idiosyncracies yet. It may be a little while before we start getting feedback.

Hi Neil.. do you know if any of the magazines have done a revue on this yet?
Puzzler..
 

·
Ian Wigglesworth
Joined
·
750 Posts
QUOTE (Puzzler @ 12 Jun 2008, 09:00) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Neil.. do you know if any of the magazines have done a revue on this yet?
Puzzler..


When I was at Digitrains last week he had only just received his, and thats been on order for almost a year so I doubt if any magazines have had a chance to get hold of one yet to actually do a review.

Chris at Digitrains has also ordered the big separate indicator panel, but as yet Viessmann have not released that yet.
Its going to be a while.
Bite the bullet, go on, buy one
and you do a review....you know you want to

What was that answer I hear you say....
!


Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
QUOTE (wiggy25 @ 12 Jun 2008, 09:09) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>When I was at Digitrains last week he had only just received his, and thats been on order for almost a year so I doubt if any magazines have had a chance to get hold of one yet to actually do a review.

Chris at Digitrains has also ordered the big separate indicator panel, but as yet Viessmann have not released that yet.
Its going to be a while.
Bite the bullet, go on, buy one
and you do a review....you know you want to

What was that answer I hear you say....
!


Cheers

Don't Tempt Me!
but I'm in no hurry as I am still building my HO layout, and my partner is building her N gauge layout, I think whatever controller I get, her indoors will hijack it,
anyone know how to put a password protection on a controller???

Puzzler..
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
QUOTE anyone know how to put a password protection on a controller???

Section 18.4.2 of the ECoS manual describes how to set a 5 digit "Access code" on a configuration sub menu.

I don't think it stops you using the unit altogether. It is probably there to stop younger users accidently (?) changing things better left unchanged.

I'm not sure this has quite the level of protection you were thinking of?


David
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
QUOTE (dwb @ 12 Jun 2008, 16:46) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Section 18.4.2 of the ECoS manual describes how to set a 5 digit "Access code" on a configuration sub menu.

I don't think it stops you using the unit altogether. It is probably there to stop younger users accidently (?) changing things better left unchanged.

I'm not sure this has quite the level of protection you were thinking of?


David

Thanks for that David, but as I am getting a bit cheesed off waiting for the Viessmann stuff to appear, and not having a proper controller other than the Fleich Lok-Bos thingy, which does not operate all the sound features of my loco's, I have decided in the mean time to buy a Dynamis Digital Control System, at £85.. this is at a good price to give me what I want to keep me going until we learn more about the Viessy set-up.

I would be most greatfull for any tips on using the Dynamis. and correct me if I'm wrong, that the basic model does Not read the CV's

Keep Shovelling..


Puzzler..
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
9,844 Posts
QUOTE correct me if I'm wrong, that the basic model does Not read the CV's

You are correct. You will need the "Pro" box add on to be able to read CVs. I don't think Bachmann have published a "hard" delivery date yet, so it may be some time away, like at least 3 months but you really can't tell. What is certain is that it's not available now.

David
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,397 Posts
QUOTE (Puzzler @ 12 Jun 2008, 19:00) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Neil.. do you know if any of the magazines have done a revue on this yet?
Puzzler..

I haven't seen one yet, however neither have I seen a mag review of the ECoS which has been out for a year and a half at least. Forums like this are probably your best bet I'm afraid.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top