Model Railway Forum banner
1 - 20 of 518 Posts

· Noob, but I try my best...........
1,053 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well having thought about it for a long long time, thought its about time that I got started on my layout, and deal with the problems and mistakes I make as the arise. Got up real early today and decided to have a good day on putting my baseboard together, its turned out much sturdier than I thought it would, not finished yet there are a couple of foling sections still to be added.

Wanted to say thanks to everyone who has advised me to get me this far.

Here are some pictures that I took.

Any comments are very much appreciated as its my first attempt Im sure that there are areas where I could do things better.

Thanks alot

Willy................

This is how the garage looked when I started.

Then cleared it all away and started to make a frame.

Then just got on with building it all up, encountered a few little problems on the way, also decided to make a shelf, not sure if this was a good idea, here are the rest of the pictures Ive tried to put them in order.

Although the pictures dont show, got a bit carried away but I did put a 2" by 2" brace in the frame every foot before attaching the baseboard.

Ill try to get a bit more done over the weekend.

Willy..............

· Premium Member
4,843 Posts
Hi Willy,

Well you've certainly made some good progress and the foundations for your railway certainly look solid.

HOWEVER

Because you are building your boards in a fixed position you will have to do all of your wiring from underneath and the shelf you have installed is going to make that very awkward.